White County economic development leader recognized

White County Economic Development’s President Randy Mitchell was recognized as one of the winners in NIPSCO’s 2020 Luminary Awards, recognizing leaders and organizations for their outstanding commitment to strengthening local communities.

Mitchell was recognized with the award for Economic Development.

Randy Mitchell

Randy Mitchell

“I was extremely honored to receive NIPSCO’s Luminary Award for exceptional community service in economic development,” Mitchell stated. “With all the talented professionals within our Region that are engaged in transforming emerging economies to become advanced economies, I was grateful to accept this award on their behalf.”

The other winners and their categories were:

• Local Government Excellence – Fort Wayne Parks & Recreation

• Community Leadership – Mayor David Uran, City of Crown Point

• Education – Hobart High School Energy Technology Program

• Environmental Stewardship – Paul Labovitz, Indiana Dunes National Park

• Public Safety – City of Goshen

NIPSCO also made a $1,000 contribution to each award winner’s charity of choice on behalf of the winner.

The Luminary Awards were created in 2012 in celebration of the utility’s 100-year anniversary to honor individuals or organizations that have displayed leadership in the areas of Local Government Excellence, Community Leadership, Economic Development, Education, Environmental Stewardship and Public Safety.

This year social distancing guidelines changed the ceremony.

“While we would prefer to host the event in person as we’ve done since 2012, NIPSCO hosted its 2020 Luminary Awards virtually so the company could still recognize organizations and individuals within its 32 counties who go above and beyond to make a positive, lasting impact in their respective communities,” said Nick Meyer, NIPSCO vice president of Communications and External Affairs. “The work being done in these six key areas helps to create safer, stronger and more robust regions in northern Indiana. We applaud the outstanding efforts of these leaders, especially during this most difficult time in our country.”

Wabash Heartland Innovation Network welcomes new face to Board

Andrea Schwartz, Dean of the School of Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering and Applied Science at Ivy Tech Community College in Lafayette, has joined the Wabash Heartland Innovation Network’s Board of Directors.

WHIN is a nonprofit organization that promotes digital and other technology to improve farming and manufacturing in the 10 counties it serves, Benton, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Fountain, Montgomery, Pulaski, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties.

“Andrea has served in a multitude of roles in education, business and agriculture throughout the 10-county WHIN region and is an integral part of the community,” stated WHIN’s CEO Johnny Park “We are excited to have her join our Board of Directors.”

As the academic and administrative leader of Ivy Tech’s Lafayette School of Advanced Manufacturing, Engineering and Applied Science, Schwartz is responsible for curriculum, program and instructional quality; student academic success; and other academic matters.

Schwartz also directs the school to current and future workforce needs in the Lafayette campus service area.

Previously, she served Ivy Tech as chair and assistant professor of the Agriculture Program and was an agriculture science and business educator for West Central School Corporation and Cloverdale Community School Corporation.

Schwartz currently lives in Clinton County with her husband and children.

Reach James D. Wolf Jr. at james.wolf@pharostribune.com or 574-732-5117

Twitter @JamesDWolfJr

React to this story:


Recommended for you