Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

Opinion
  • MARCUS: Private sector option for safer streets We were in Edinburgh at the Pixy Theater waiting to hear the Wright Brothers play. For reasons I cannot explain, I began to think of the growing concern about public safety in communities across the state. It was an incongruous series of thoughts in

    July 15, 2014

  • LYONS: Why President Obama makes the GOP panic If you pay too much attention to opinion polls, as most people do, doubtless you’ve heard that a plurality of voters has judged Barack Obama the worst president since World War II. Thirty-three percent, to be precise, which as it conflates almost exa

    July 14, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Financial hardships mount for military families Days before the July Fourth holiday, Holly Petraeus stood on the steps of the imposing Indiana War Memorial, in front of a bank of cameras, and made a plea to military families: Don’t let pride stand in the way of asking for help.It was a striking me

    July 14, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 13, 2014 Learn about ‘fair share’in property taxesWhen the Legislature’s Blue Ribbon Commission begins its look at the state’s taxes this summer, invariably there will be talk of business needing to pay its “fair share.” That’s certainly true, but what is fai

    July 13, 2014

  • Learning the art of painting I’ve been doing some painting lately.No, not the kind of painting that you do on the walls of your house. To that I say, “I don’t paint.” Besides, you wouldn’t want me painting the walls of your house. I’m horrible at it. And I’m not much better at p

    July 13, 2014

  • Stu Engle ENGLE: Challenging courses should be treasured “Dr. Haave, we think you are asking for too much.” I rarely saw her smile. Occasionally, she would have her lips upturned just a little and sometimes her eyes seemed to glitter with joy. On this day back in 1979, Dr. Haave showed a huge smile and her

    July 13, 2014 1 Photo

  • OUR VIEW: Corporations are now Average Joes? Do corporations have souls? Can corporations go to church? Can they fast?These aren’t questions one might expect serious adults to pose. But with its earth-shattering pronouncement June 30 in the case of Burwell v. Hobby Lobby, the U.S. Supreme Court

    July 13, 2014

  • CEPEDA: How polarized? Not that much America is growing more polarized — or so we’ve read in what seems like a zillion headlines in the weeks since the Pew Research Center for the People and the Press released “Political Polarization in the American Public.”This is the report that spurr

    July 13, 2014

  • HOWEY: Adopting Indiana? Or a ‘deadbeat parent’ This past week we’ve learned that the state of Indiana has essentially stiffed 1,400 families who have adopted special needs children. The subsidies they were promised to raise kids in the state’s foster child program have been denied, prompting one

    July 13, 2014

  • FREY: Creating an environment of love in which to learn

    For as long as I can remember, my daughter Bernadette wanted to be an elementary school teacher.And not just any elementary school teacher, a kindergarten teacher, because, as Bernadette has always said, “The little ones! I want to teach the little o

    July 11, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.