Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

Opinion
  • Designing healthier new food products Today’s snack food aisle in the grocery store contains a lot more products than when I was a kid. Back then, we mainly had potato chips and saltines, but not much more. Now there’s a multitude of choices designed to help you satisfy your cravings for

    July 4, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Judging no way to live Back in the day, I sometimes had people ask me what I would say if my son brought home a black girl, saying he wanted to marry her? Usually it was said jeeringly — “Talking about racial equality is all well and good but what if it happened in your fa

    July 3, 2014

  • creditor CREDITOR: A Jewish perspective on taxes and poverty Here are two related statistics, both of which may surprise you: 1) More than 1.2 billion people around the world live in extreme poverty, and 2) Every year, poor countries lose more money to tax avoidance than they receive in aid.Here is something t

    July 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • OUR VIEW: Fireworks not to be trifled with There are 200 injuries daily because of the use of fireworks in the month of July, according to the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.Every day. Two hundred injuries. That’s 6,000 injuries in one month.We can almost hear you saying, “Oh, but th

    July 3, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Democracy is not an easy process Democracy is notan easy processGenerally speaking, I think Americans love themselves far more than they love their country. I see the stars and stripes displayed more often than I used to, but that’s only because the rules have changed. It was too mu

    July 3, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Making a push to get voters registered The League of Women Voters of Indiana is urging Hoosiers to ensure their voter registration is up-to-date in time for the fall elections, The Associated Press reported Monday.The league told the AP it is hoping to improve on voter turnout for the pri

    July 2, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Freedom, like sausage-making, not a pretty process How fragile something is that Americans take for granted every day.Freedom. Independence. The right to do what we want, where we want, as long as we want, as much as we want — until we don’t want it anymore.We argue about our rights and how far those

    July 2, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Thanks for helping with open house Thanks for helpingwith open houseWe would like to thank the Logansport community and surrounding communities for attending our Logansport Airport Open House. The day started out looking like a complete wipe-out and in the end, it was the most success

    July 2, 2014

  • MARCUS: A new ranking of the states The same day Gov. Pence held his tax circus (conference) last week, CNBC (the cable business channel) released its ranking of “America’s Top States for Business.” These rankings compare the states on 56 measures of competitiveness grouped into ten br

    July 1, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: What's wrong with soccer anyway? Have you been watching the World Cup? I have, even though I don’t know the rules, or if there are any — beside the obvious one that you can’t use your hands, except when you can use your hands. But mostly it seems you can’t. That seems to be a pretty

    July 1, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Do you think putting Logansport police officers on bikes to patrol parks and trails is a good use of the department's manpower?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
More Immigrants Detained Along Rio Grande FIFA Rejects Suarez Appeal Against Biting Ban World Cup Final Pits Argentina Against Germany Obama Responds to Hecklers on Immigration Chimp-attack Victim Lobbies Congress Police: Prostitute Linked to 2nd Death Thousands Attend NYC Firefighter's Funeral Neighbors Mourn Killing of Texas Family Art of Haitian Machete Fighting Revived Israeli-Palestinian Tensions, Attacks Escalate UN Secretary-General Urges Mideast Ceasefire 'Game of Thrones' Leads Emmy Nominees Raw: Australia Hosts Annual Beer Can Regatta At Texas Border, a Daily Tide of Poor Migrants Raw: Rescuers Push Beached Whale Back to Ocean Mass. Mayor: Families Lost Everything in Fire Four Kids, Two Adults Shot Dead Near Houston Connecticut Boy Dies Inside Parked Car Fans Dying to Be Near Jazz Greats Robots Gearing Up for Their Own 'World Cup'
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.