Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

November 18, 2012

OUR VIEW: City should listen to critics

Supporters say a proposed amendment to city zoning regulations will promote development of senior housing not only downtown but throughout the city.

They might be right.

Critics of the plan, though, fear that the goal of the change is to shut off public debate on a controversial project.

Zoning regulations currently require that a developer obtain a special use permit for housing on the first floor of any downtown building, and obtaining such a permit requires an appearance before the Logansport Board of Zoning Appeals.

Developers proposing a four-story senior housing complex at the corner Fourth and Market streets ran into trouble at that stage in the process when the BZA rejected their application.

Opponents objected to the location of the development, saying that the lot and an adjacent park were an important part of a public gathering place in the center of town. Nearby businesses also complained that the plan suffered from a lack of off-street parking.

Arin Shaver, the city-county planning director, rejects the idea that her office is trying to limit public discussion. She points out that the farmers market project would have had to go before the BZA even under the new regulations. And she argues that the proposed amendment isn’t aimed at pushing through the farmers market project.

“These rules would apply to any project,” she said last week.

Developing senior housing in Logansport is a good idea. It’s a particularly good idea to develop such housing downtown, where an influx of residents should lead to a boost in commercial activity. People who live downtown will likely spend money downtown, not only supporting the businesses already in place but perhaps inspiring new businesses to set up shop.

Opponents don’t argue that point. Most seem to agree with the concept of developing more housing downtown.

They argue, though, that the southeast corner of Fourth and Market streets is not the place to develop that housing. And they say changing the rules to make it easier for developers to avoid an appearance before the BZA won’t change that.

City officials ought to listen these dissenting voices. Regardless of whether the planning commission and ultimately the city council approve this new ordinance, officials should back away from the idea of a senior housing project at Fourth and Market streets.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.