Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

February 10, 2013

KNISELY: House hunting blues

— I feel like Goldilocks.

No, I didn’t dye my hair. I went blond once. It wasn’t a good look for me.

I’m looking for a house to rent and can’t seem to find the right fit for me. Before you start in, I know now is the time to buy  a house. As people learn I’m looking to rent instead of buy a house, that’s what everyone tells me. I’m just not the buying type. I’m a renter. I buy cars, not houses. I’m a bit of a commitment-phob like that.

Anyway, since graduating college, I’ve lived in apartment complexes. A lot of apartment complexes. But I want to rent a house for a change. Little did I know looking for a house is frustrating. I’ve only been at it a couple weeks, but I’ve already seen a lot of houses.

I can only assume that looking at rental properties is a bit like online dating. All too often you show up and learn it’s not like the picture you saw online. Then there’s that awkward moment where you question if it’d be entirely rude to just turn around and walk out because you know it’s not right for you. And then decide it would be rude, so you begrudgingly walk through the house and find yourself looking for new reasons to hate it.

Then other times, it’s just like you saw on the Internet and you get really excited about the prospect. But 5 minutes in you realize there’s a major flaw that ruins everything. Like learning your date collects trolls (translation, the house has bugs.)

But what I’ve found thus far in my search is there tends to be more little flaws than massive deal-breakers. I’ll find a house I like but there’s a weird situation with water service. I’ll like another house but I’m not sure about the neighborhood. One house had an awesome kitchen but the weirdest bathroom I’ve ever seen.

So I find myself debating the merits of the three bears.

This house is too big. That house is too small.

This house is too far away. That house is too close.

And then I’ll find a house that seems perfect. I’ll like the way it’s laid out and think it’s in a great neighborhood. And it’s priced right, too. But after seeing so many duds, I’ll find myself looking for the catch. Is it haunted? Are there chalk outlines throughout the house?

Eventually I’ll find the perfect fit and all will be well. It turned out OK for Goldilocks in the end, right? Oh wait ...

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com

For more on this story and other local news, subscribe to The Pharos-Tribune eEdition, or our print edition

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • FREY: An ode to service days gone by There were many times in the past year that I walked by the small glass corner curio cabinet.I often glanced at the photographs from the corners of my eyes as I made my way past the nurse’s station and out the pass-coded locked doors.It is one of man

    August 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Looking out for youth and e-cigarettes Technology, it seems, finds solutions for just about everything. So it should surprise no one that the tobacco industry, under siege for years for marketing and selling unhealthy products, found a way around the anti-smoking fervor through a smoke-le

    August 22, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A matter of bad habits Mary Ellen and I have been happy together for so long that we sometimes forget how much we annoy each other, so on the trip back home from our recent vacation, it was time catch up on our bad habits.For example, I told Mary Ellen that she is a relent

    August 22, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Life is not all choices There is a post on Facebook that says, “Everything you do is based on the choices you make. It’s not your parents, your past relationships, your job, the economy, the weather, an argument or your age that is to blame. You and only you are responsible

    August 21, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Reining in unlimited farm subsidies Reining in unlimitedfarm subsidiesIn January, President Obama declared that despite Congressional logjams, “America does not stand still — and neither will I. So wherever and whenever I can take steps without legislation to expand opportunity for Ame

    August 21, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why government openness matters One of the fundamental lessons of the 9/11 tragedy was that our government carried a share of blame for the failure to stop the attacks. Not because it was asleep at the switch or ignorant of the dangers that Al Qaeda posed, but because the agencies

    August 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Continue work of modernizing courts Indiana’s new chief justice, Loretta Rush, has a lot on her plate. She not only has to preside over the Indiana Supreme Court, but also to modernize the state’s other courts as well.Indiana is well on its way toward bringing courts into the 21st cent

    August 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Mo-ped law long overdue We’ve all seen them on the streets, and their popularity is only growing. Mo-peds have coasted in a legal grey area for years in Indiana.A lack of registration, testing and licensure allowed those without other means of transport to join other vehicl

    August 20, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Quality of life and leaders both matter It was with some astonishment and much disappointment I read in the Aug. 5 edition of the Pharos-Tribune that one of our local city councilmen was quoted as saying that previous efforts in Logansport to use Tax Increment Financing money for quality o

    August 20, 2014

  • RAMPELL: Here comes Entrepreneur Barbie WASHINGTON — Lego’s groundbreaking female-scientists set sold out almost immediately after it was released this month. But never fear, fans of feminist toys: A new Barbie doll, now in stock, is also shattering the plastic ceiling.Yes, that swan-necke

    August 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Does Indiana need a statewide water management plan and an administrator to implement it?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
US: We Do Not Pay Ransom to Terrorists Ferguson Teachers Training to Deal With Trauma Jon Hamm on the Unrest in Ferguson Tit for Tat? McDonald's Shuttered in Moscow Life on the Professional Video Game Circuit TX Gov Perry in Washington: 'Confident' in Case Hospital Releases Two Missionaries Who Had Ebola Ramen Health Risks: The Dark Side of the Noodle NYC Doctor-in-chief Seeks Community Approach Indonesian Police Fire Tear Gas at Protesters Raw: Shots Fired in Liberian Shantytown DOJ, Bank of America Reach Record Settlement Raw: Cubavision Airs Images of Fidel Castro Raw: Grief After Deadly Airstrikes in Gaza Officer Who Pointed Gun at Protesters Suspended Kathy Griffin Challenges Minaj to 'a Booty Off' Johnson: Six Arrests, No Tear Gas in Ferguson Raw: Rescue, Relief Efforts at Japan Landslide Cadavers, a Teen, and a Medical School Dream California Drought Stings Honeybees, Beekeepers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.