Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

February 10, 2013

KNISELY: House hunting blues

— I feel like Goldilocks.

No, I didn’t dye my hair. I went blond once. It wasn’t a good look for me.

I’m looking for a house to rent and can’t seem to find the right fit for me. Before you start in, I know now is the time to buy  a house. As people learn I’m looking to rent instead of buy a house, that’s what everyone tells me. I’m just not the buying type. I’m a renter. I buy cars, not houses. I’m a bit of a commitment-phob like that.

Anyway, since graduating college, I’ve lived in apartment complexes. A lot of apartment complexes. But I want to rent a house for a change. Little did I know looking for a house is frustrating. I’ve only been at it a couple weeks, but I’ve already seen a lot of houses.

I can only assume that looking at rental properties is a bit like online dating. All too often you show up and learn it’s not like the picture you saw online. Then there’s that awkward moment where you question if it’d be entirely rude to just turn around and walk out because you know it’s not right for you. And then decide it would be rude, so you begrudgingly walk through the house and find yourself looking for new reasons to hate it.

Then other times, it’s just like you saw on the Internet and you get really excited about the prospect. But 5 minutes in you realize there’s a major flaw that ruins everything. Like learning your date collects trolls (translation, the house has bugs.)

But what I’ve found thus far in my search is there tends to be more little flaws than massive deal-breakers. I’ll find a house I like but there’s a weird situation with water service. I’ll like another house but I’m not sure about the neighborhood. One house had an awesome kitchen but the weirdest bathroom I’ve ever seen.

So I find myself debating the merits of the three bears.

This house is too big. That house is too small.

This house is too far away. That house is too close.

And then I’ll find a house that seems perfect. I’ll like the way it’s laid out and think it’s in a great neighborhood. And it’s priced right, too. But after seeing so many duds, I’ll find myself looking for the catch. Is it haunted? Are there chalk outlines throughout the house?

Eventually I’ll find the perfect fit and all will be well. It turned out OK for Goldilocks in the end, right? Oh wait ...

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com

For more on this story and other local news, subscribe to The Pharos-Tribune eEdition, or our print edition

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: Giving a word of advice So, what’s the word? Really, what is the word? With over 250,000 words in the English language, you’d think there would be a word for just about everything. Not so. Therefore, I am on a crusade to find a term for some everyday occurrences for which t

    August 1, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Stop spinning wheels and fund highways It is important that Congress act quickly to maintain sufficient funding levels in the Highway Trust Fund to pay for necessary highway projects.Indiana receives more than 40 percent of its total state highway and transit funding from the federal gove

    August 1, 2014

  • PETERS: Have a cup of joe to help your eyes? My day starts with coffee. I’m too cheap to buy it by the cup from baristas, so I just brew my own Folgers by the pot. I have a cup or two as I settle into work each morning, and another cup – sometimes two – in the early afternoon. That may not be w

    August 1, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: America still the dream Is America really in as bad as shape like many people say it is? I’m 67 and when I look around, I don’t see it.Everything isn’t great but believe it or not, there has never been a time when everything was great, not even in those innocent Fifties we

    July 31, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Every town that has any sort of waterway -- whether it be a river or a creek or just a stream -- knows it will be used as a trash can. And oftentimes, tires are a favorite trash to be tossed into the waterways. Many organizations and concerned citize

    July 31, 2014

  • WERNER: The mystery of the Indian grave at Dykeman Last summer I contacted Thelma Conrad, executive director of the Cass County Historical Society, to ask her if she had any information on the Indian grave at Dykeman Park. Thelma had heard of it but had never seen the small marker that tells of the I

    July 31, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should the U.S. impose a travel ban on three West African nations in response to a growing Ebola virus outbreak?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.