Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

February 10, 2013

KNISELY: House hunting blues

— I feel like Goldilocks.

No, I didn’t dye my hair. I went blond once. It wasn’t a good look for me.

I’m looking for a house to rent and can’t seem to find the right fit for me. Before you start in, I know now is the time to buy  a house. As people learn I’m looking to rent instead of buy a house, that’s what everyone tells me. I’m just not the buying type. I’m a renter. I buy cars, not houses. I’m a bit of a commitment-phob like that.

Anyway, since graduating college, I’ve lived in apartment complexes. A lot of apartment complexes. But I want to rent a house for a change. Little did I know looking for a house is frustrating. I’ve only been at it a couple weeks, but I’ve already seen a lot of houses.

I can only assume that looking at rental properties is a bit like online dating. All too often you show up and learn it’s not like the picture you saw online. Then there’s that awkward moment where you question if it’d be entirely rude to just turn around and walk out because you know it’s not right for you. And then decide it would be rude, so you begrudgingly walk through the house and find yourself looking for new reasons to hate it.

Then other times, it’s just like you saw on the Internet and you get really excited about the prospect. But 5 minutes in you realize there’s a major flaw that ruins everything. Like learning your date collects trolls (translation, the house has bugs.)

But what I’ve found thus far in my search is there tends to be more little flaws than massive deal-breakers. I’ll find a house I like but there’s a weird situation with water service. I’ll like another house but I’m not sure about the neighborhood. One house had an awesome kitchen but the weirdest bathroom I’ve ever seen.

So I find myself debating the merits of the three bears.

This house is too big. That house is too small.

This house is too far away. That house is too close.

And then I’ll find a house that seems perfect. I’ll like the way it’s laid out and think it’s in a great neighborhood. And it’s priced right, too. But after seeing so many duds, I’ll find myself looking for the catch. Is it haunted? Are there chalk outlines throughout the house?

Eventually I’ll find the perfect fit and all will be well. It turned out OK for Goldilocks in the end, right? Oh wait ...

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com

For more on this story and other local news, subscribe to The Pharos-Tribune eEdition, or our print edition

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.