Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

February 10, 2013

KNISELY: House hunting blues

— I feel like Goldilocks.

No, I didn’t dye my hair. I went blond once. It wasn’t a good look for me.

I’m looking for a house to rent and can’t seem to find the right fit for me. Before you start in, I know now is the time to buy  a house. As people learn I’m looking to rent instead of buy a house, that’s what everyone tells me. I’m just not the buying type. I’m a renter. I buy cars, not houses. I’m a bit of a commitment-phob like that.

Anyway, since graduating college, I’ve lived in apartment complexes. A lot of apartment complexes. But I want to rent a house for a change. Little did I know looking for a house is frustrating. I’ve only been at it a couple weeks, but I’ve already seen a lot of houses.

I can only assume that looking at rental properties is a bit like online dating. All too often you show up and learn it’s not like the picture you saw online. Then there’s that awkward moment where you question if it’d be entirely rude to just turn around and walk out because you know it’s not right for you. And then decide it would be rude, so you begrudgingly walk through the house and find yourself looking for new reasons to hate it.

Then other times, it’s just like you saw on the Internet and you get really excited about the prospect. But 5 minutes in you realize there’s a major flaw that ruins everything. Like learning your date collects trolls (translation, the house has bugs.)

But what I’ve found thus far in my search is there tends to be more little flaws than massive deal-breakers. I’ll find a house I like but there’s a weird situation with water service. I’ll like another house but I’m not sure about the neighborhood. One house had an awesome kitchen but the weirdest bathroom I’ve ever seen.

So I find myself debating the merits of the three bears.

This house is too big. That house is too small.

This house is too far away. That house is too close.

And then I’ll find a house that seems perfect. I’ll like the way it’s laid out and think it’s in a great neighborhood. And it’s priced right, too. But after seeing so many duds, I’ll find myself looking for the catch. Is it haunted? Are there chalk outlines throughout the house?

Eventually I’ll find the perfect fit and all will be well. It turned out OK for Goldilocks in the end, right? Oh wait ...

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com

For more on this story and other local news, subscribe to The Pharos-Tribune eEdition, or our print edition

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

  • PETERS: Grizzly bear may help human medicine I've gained 5 pounds since last summer. My body mass index (BMI) is still fine, but I need to stop gaining to keep it that way. Grizzly bears put my weight gain to shame. In the late summer, they eat some 50,000 calories per day and gain more than 1

    April 18, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Feelings of the flowers I took one of those fun tests on Facebook to see what kind of flower I am and lo and behold, it said I was an orchid! That is so wrong because I have always thought I was the exact opposite of an orchid. I'd characterize myself as a daisy. You know,

    April 17, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet! Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it's down to $134 billion. People who believe in public belt-tightening applaud drops like that. I understand why: there are many reas

    April 17, 2014

  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should e-cigarette marketing be regulated like tobacco?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.