Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

January 27, 2013

KNISELY: A whole lot of history

— I was standing near the back of the office earlier this week when a very excited coworker came rushing toward me. Waving with excitement, she yelled “Misty! Misty! Come check this out!”

She practically dragged me toward the conference room. I’ll not lie to you, I’m new here and my first reaction was fear. There could be all manner of horror awaiting me in that room.

But what she showed me was a bookshelf with ... wait for it ... books.

My first response was, “Wow, life is not all that exciting around this office if you’re this excited about a bookshelf full of old books.”

“No, no! Look at the title,” she countered.

“John Tipton Letters I 1809-1827,” I read aloud.

“I know who that is now!” she came back with quickly. “I’ve worked here for how many years and never noticed there were books in this room! And now I even know who Tipton is! General Tipton, that is,” she said slyly, showing off her newfound wisdom of Logansport history.

To tell the truth, I was just as excited as she was at this point. I was pretty proud that I, too, knew who General John Tipton was and, moreover, I know what history tells us about him.

So, who is General John Tipton?

He was appointed in 1823 to serve as Indian agent for the Pottawatomie and Miami Indians.

In 1828, he moved his Fort Wayne Indian Affairs office to the area where the Eel and Wabash rivers met — the area that would one day become the city of Logansport.

Tipton played a major role in making that happen.

But when he arrived, the area wasn’t much to look at. There were few settlers before him.

In fact, the area had only just been platted by Chauncey Carter.

OK, now I’m just dropping names because I can.

And the reason I can is the commemorative edition we’ve been working on in recent weeks.

To mark the city’s anniversary, we’re offering a year-long series on its history. With mountains of help from the Cass County Historical Society, we’re breaking the city’s history down into significant time frames and will present them chronologically.

The first issue, which you’ll find inside today’s paper, tells the stories of those who first settled the area at the confluence of the Eel and Wabash rivers.

 It’s these pioneers (including Tipton and Carter) that had a vision for what the area could become and made it so.

So, in putting this first edition together, I learned as much as I could about the time from when the first settler came (1826) to when the city was incorporated (1838).

Just don’t ask me what happened in 1923.

I don’t know yet.

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.