Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

December 7, 2012

Thorns and Roses - Dec. 7, 2012

Roses

• To the Logansport Juvenile Correctional Facility on the high marks it received in a recent reaccreditation audit. A team from the American Corrections Association gave the facility credit a nearly perfect score. The audit team conducted a two-and-a-half day evaluation to evaluate every part of the facility, including programs and services, health and management. Before revealing the score, Roger Chute, head of the audit team, praised the corrections facility for its overall safety and security and the health of the juveniles. Superintendent Lori Harshbarger said she was pleased with the score, and she expressed confidence her staff would be able to address the few issues, including an out-of-date first-aid kit. The facility will get the official word on reaccreditation during a hearing in January.

• To everyone involved in organizing last weekend’s Winterfest event at the Cass County Carousel. The event offered free food, rides, fun and a special visit from Mr. and Mrs. Claus. The event is an annual tradition for the group overseeing the carousel. This year’s event was sponsored by Myers Spring. The historic carousel has been part of the fabric of this community for generations, and events like the one on Sunday are a great way to keep the community connected to a local treasure.

• To Mercedes Brugh on her selection as the recipient of a 2012 Award of Excellence from the Indiana Park and Recreation Association. The award will be presented at a banquet during the IPRA state conference in Bloomington in January. Brugh was nominated for the outstanding volunteer award by Janet Fawley, administrator of the Logansport Parks and Recreation Department. “Mercedes Brugh has been a dedicated volunteer to enhancing our trails in Cass County and throughout the state of Indiana,” Fawley wrote. “Mercedes has great vision for Logansport. Her determination to establish trails and enhance the Eel and Wabash rivers began in 1986, and she never backed down or changed direction. Mercedes has always made sure that the public is well informed about the plans for trails, and enlisted their support for every public project.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.