Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

December 4, 2012

OUR VIEW: Utility plan could have huge impact

When it comes to a proposed $500 million project to supply Logansport’s electrical needs by burning pellets made from trash, Utility Service Board member Todd Miller asks a good question: Why not?

Logansport Municipal Utilities has no choice but to look for alternatives to its current coal-burning operation. The utility has lost nearly $4 million in the last three years, officials say, and it already knows that federal regulations will shut down the coal-fire plant within five years.

The utility can look for ways to become energy independent, or it can get comfortable with the fact that it will be buying all of its power from a supplier such as Duke Energy within a few years.

That latter option is one no one wants to choose. Consultants project that it would mean a substantial increase in the city’s residential utility rates, not to mention the loss of about 30 jobs at the local generating plant.

Supporters say pursuing the trash alternative, on the other hand, would mean an increase in jobs at the power plant, and Mayor Ted Franklin has projected that the total impact would more than quadruple that number.

Not to mention LMU Superintendent Paul Hartman’s projection that residential electric bills would drop 20 to 25 percent as a result of the project.

And then, of course, there’s the environmental impact. Rather than burning coal, this community would be generating electricity using stuff that would otherwise wind up in a landfill.

None of this will happen quickly. Proposals from companies willing to tackle the project are due in January, and the Logansport Utility Service Board hopes to make a selection by early February. After that will come a licensing process that could take two years, followed by a construction process that could take to the middle of 2017.

It’s entirely possible that even if LMU launches this process early next year, it will be forced to shut down the current power plant before it can get the new plant up and running.

So time is of the essence.

Still, it’s crucial that local utility customers stay tuned to this process. LMU has pledged that the discussion will be open and above board, and it’s important that the public take advantage of the opportunity.

This project could have a huge impact on Logansport and Cass County, not only in the immediate future but for years to come.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • FREY: An ode to service days gone by There were many times in the past year that I walked by the small glass corner curio cabinet.I often glanced at the photographs from the corners of my eyes as I made my way past the nurse’s station and out the pass-coded locked doors.It is one of man

    August 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Looking out for youth and e-cigarettes Technology, it seems, finds solutions for just about everything. So it should surprise no one that the tobacco industry, under siege for years for marketing and selling unhealthy products, found a way around the anti-smoking fervor through a smoke-le

    August 22, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A matter of bad habits Mary Ellen and I have been happy together for so long that we sometimes forget how much we annoy each other, so on the trip back home from our recent vacation, it was time catch up on our bad habits.For example, I told Mary Ellen that she is a relent

    August 22, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Life is not all choices There is a post on Facebook that says, “Everything you do is based on the choices you make. It’s not your parents, your past relationships, your job, the economy, the weather, an argument or your age that is to blame. You and only you are responsible

    August 21, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Reining in unlimited farm subsidies Reining in unlimitedfarm subsidiesIn January, President Obama declared that despite Congressional logjams, “America does not stand still — and neither will I. So wherever and whenever I can take steps without legislation to expand opportunity for Ame

    August 21, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why government openness matters One of the fundamental lessons of the 9/11 tragedy was that our government carried a share of blame for the failure to stop the attacks. Not because it was asleep at the switch or ignorant of the dangers that Al Qaeda posed, but because the agencies

    August 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Continue work of modernizing courts Indiana’s new chief justice, Loretta Rush, has a lot on her plate. She not only has to preside over the Indiana Supreme Court, but also to modernize the state’s other courts as well.Indiana is well on its way toward bringing courts into the 21st cent

    August 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Mo-ped law long overdue We’ve all seen them on the streets, and their popularity is only growing. Mo-peds have coasted in a legal grey area for years in Indiana.A lack of registration, testing and licensure allowed those without other means of transport to join other vehicl

    August 20, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Quality of life and leaders both matter It was with some astonishment and much disappointment I read in the Aug. 5 edition of the Pharos-Tribune that one of our local city councilmen was quoted as saying that previous efforts in Logansport to use Tax Increment Financing money for quality o

    August 20, 2014

  • RAMPELL: Here comes Entrepreneur Barbie WASHINGTON — Lego’s groundbreaking female-scientists set sold out almost immediately after it was released this month. But never fear, fans of feminist toys: A new Barbie doll, now in stock, is also shattering the plastic ceiling.Yes, that swan-necke

    August 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Does Indiana need a statewide water management plan and an administrator to implement it?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Furry Roommates: Dorms Allowing Cats and Dogs Chase Rice Defends Bro-Country 'Jersey Shore Massacre' Pokes Fun at MTV Series Raw: Wash. Mudslides Close Roads, Trap Motorists DC's Godfather of Go-Go Honored Ukraine Calls Russian Convoy a 'direct Invasion' Girl Meets Her 'one in the World' Match Coal Gas Boom in China Holds Climate Risks Japan Landslide Rescuers Struggle in Heavy Rain Raw: Severe Floods, Fire Wrecks Indiana Homes Endangered Red Wolves Face Uncertain Future Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Arrives in Ukraine Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.