Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

July 30, 2013

OUR VIEW: Clean house in Congress

President Obama visited Illinois, Missouri and Florida last week, making impassioned speeches he hopes will draw the nation’s attention to the struggles of America’s middle class.

He spoke about college and housing costs, retirement security, health care, poverty and jobs. But some political analysts believe the president’s speeches on the economy were an opening salvo in the next battle over raising the federal debt limit.

Politico cited unnamed congressional sources, who said the U.S. will hit its borrowing ceiling sometime between October and the end of December. To stave off a debt default or another credit downgrade, John McCain and other Senate Republicans are working with Senate Democrats and the White House to reform, perhaps, entitlements and the tax code, and ease federal cuts that were implemented in the sequester, Politico said.

The news organization asked Rep. Paul Ryan, R-Wis., his thoughts on the debt limit plan of the Senate GOP.

“It doesn’t matter — we’re not going to do what they want to do,” the former vice presidential candidate told Politico. “It really doesn’t matter what they do. It doesn’t matter what John McCain and others do on the taxes and the rest.”

Gridlock is what we’ve all come to expect from Congress. That’s the reason America’s dissatisfaction with D.C. hit a new high last week.

An NBC News/Wall Street Journal poll found 83 percent of those surveyed disapproved of the job Congress is doing. The poll also showed the president’s job approval rating at 45 percent — the lowest it’s been since the last fight over the debt limit.

Americans watched the Senate do nothing to stiffen background checks for gun purchases, even after 20 5- and 6-year-olds were shot to death in their elementary school. They watched with resignation as immigration reform stalled in the House of Representatives.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.