Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

October 24, 2013

KLITZMAN: A teachable moment missed on "Glee"

Having been in the awesome profession of education for 43 years (my entire adult life), I can say with confidence you cannot separate yourself from the tenets of the profession that you love overnight.

At least I know I cannot. As I watch and/or read the daily news and just observe the world around me, I automatically and naturally react to what I observe as it relates to or impacts education. It is with that backdrop that I feel compelled to offer my perspective on the recent episode of the television show “Glee” which dealt with the death of one of the cast members.

Naturally the writers and producers had to find a way to write that character out of the show. How they decided to write him out is my concern.

In full disclosure, I must say that I have not been a regular watcher of “Glee,” usually watching just a few minutes of it, then only on an intermittent basis. “Glee” is based on the many trials and tribulations high school students supposedly face. The target audience is naturally high school students, with the age range expanded somewhat at both ends of the spectrum.

The show just doesn’t work for me, having lived the reality of school life for students every day. I have absolutely no problem with a show dealing with school — I really enjoyed watching Mr. Kotter do his magic in the classroom.

The episode of “Glee” that dealt with the cast member’s death aired in October, while the actual death occurred in July. It is the way the death was handled in the October episode that I struggle with from an educational point of view.

Actor Cory Monteith tragically died of a drug overdose with alcohol also involved in July. That is a well-documented fact. The producers and writers of Glee chose to deal with the character’s death by not addressing the cause or circumstances of the death at all. Rather, the only specific reference to the death was for the character’s sister to say, “How he died is not important, he was my brother.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.