Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

October 20, 2013

OUR VIEW: Make a commitment to help

Dare you to move.

That’s the message of the Cass County Resource Network.

We double-dare you.

The network is looking forward to 2014. It’s a year in which members hope to accomplish more great things. It’s also a year they want to get more people involved in the good works they are doing.

And by community, they mean you.

This is a project that everyone can get involved in and make an impact. It doesn’t matter what you do for a living or who you know or don’t know. You just have to want to make a difference in your community.

The teacher, the student, the retiree, the executive, the unemployed, the factory worker, the secretary, the police officer, the construction worker — everyone is needed.

The network is made up of more than 50 organizations as well as individuals who are divided into task forces to improve Cass County.

Many of those who volunteer their time and resources to the network were at this week’s summit. Their commitment and passion for the work they are doing is palpable. So much so it’s hard to think that getting involved in this great organization in 2014 couldn’t easily have an impact on your life.

The network is clearly having an impact on those it serves. Through the CCRN task forces, five community gardens were established in Logansport, 84 children attended Begindergarten and received school readiness preparation, a 2-1-1 EXPO gave residents information to promote local programs and various other projects were completed.

This work was done through the group’s task forces, which cover childcare/preschool, employment, neighborhood, family stability and food security. If you want to get involved, choose the area you feel most passionate about. The more you care about something, the more of yourself you’ll put into it.

Think about the ways you could be part of those successes in 2014 and then make a commitment to the CCRN to help by attending its 2014 planning session on Nov. 21.

THE ISSUE Cass County Resource Network OUR VIEW It's a great organization to get involved with in 2014.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.