Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

October 1, 2013

OUR VIEW: Painting the world pink in October

A pink haze is settling in as October gets underway. Long known as Breast Cancer Awareness Month, it’s 30 days to really hammer home the message of cancer prevention.

Except for skin cancers, breast cancer is the most common cancer among American women. Twelve percent of U.S. women will develop invasive breast cancer during their lifetime. That’s 1 in 8 women.

Don’t just gloss over that statistic. Stop and think about. Make a list of eight women in your life: your mother, your sister, your aunt, your daughter, your best friend, the woman you share a cubicle with, your best shopping partner, you. One of those women is likely to develop breast cancer.

In 2013, the American Cancer Society estimates about 232,340 new cases of invasive breast cancer will be diagnosed in women.

And that’s not counting the non-invasive. Throw in carcinoma in situ, known as CIS and is the earliest form of breast cancer, and you have another 64,640 new cases.

And the really sad news, about 39,620 women will die from breast cancer this year.

But, there is good news. After increasing for more than 2 decades, female breast cancer rates began dropping in 2000. From 2002 to 2003, rates dropped by about 7 percent.

That dip was due in part to a decline in the use of hormone therapy after menopause. This is where the research has paid off. A Women’s Health Initiative study, published in 2002, linked hormone therapy with an increased risk of breast cancer and heart diseases.

There’s more good news.

Death rates from breast cancer have been on the decline since 1989. The largest decrease was in women younger than 50, thanks to early detection from screening, improved treatment, and increased awareness.

Clearly, this is a disease that can be beaten. There are more than 2.8 million breast cancer survivors in the United States. And throughout the month of October, every Tuesday, we’ll share the story of a survivor who you call a neighbor.

We want you read their stories and know there’s hope for tomorrow. Hope that we truly are winning the battle against breast cancer.

THE ISSUE Breast Cancer Awareness Month begins today. OUR VIEW

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents Obama Reassures Japan on China Raw: Car Crashes Into San Antonio Pool Time Magazine Announces Top Influencers List Raw: Angry Relatives Confront SKorea Officials Bigger Riders Means Bigger Horses Out West Yankees Pineda Ejected for Pine Tar Deadly Fungus Killing Bats, Spreading in US
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.