Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 26, 2013

WILLIAMS: Dreams for when I'm rich

Mitt Rom-ney owns five houses but I would only need four. If I was a multi-millionaire, I’d have a glass-fronted beach house in Florida for the winter, a sprawling gray-shingled cottage on Cape Cod for spring, a log house tucked into a mountain valley in Wyoming for the summer and a lodge on a lake in Minnesota for the fall.

I love all the seasons. I used to love winter equally with the others but not as much since I’m older. I reveled in watching great snowstorms swoop down, gazing at the endlessly falling flakes by the street light, marveling at the high swirly drifts left behind by the wind. I relished being warm and cozy in the house while listening to the radio to hear all the cancellations — God giving us a holiday whether we wanted one or not. Guiltlessly, baking bread and playing Scrabble and reading a book while the car stayed piled with snow and the urgent report at the office went untyped.

But now, I’m more attuned to the discomfort and inconvenience of winter so, like so many others, if I had a choice, I’d bail for warmth and palm trees and golden beaches instead.

Cape Cod is capable of some unpredictable weather in early spring when the ocean crashes against the sea walls and the wind is bitter from across the water. But mostly, I think of masses of multi-colored hydrangeas and walking barefoot in the sand looking for shells and graceful sailboats plying the sound and vast mud flats when the tide is out, leaving puddles filled with exotic aquatic life.

You have to leave the Cape in the summer because it brings with it hordes of tourists so that roads are clogged and parking lots are full and restaurants are jammed. Too many people.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.