Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 18, 2013

OUR VIEW: Take the pledge to stop texting

Back in April, we asked, “What’s it going to take to make us stop texting and driving?”

Texting while driving is quickly becoming one of our country’s leading killers.

Let that sink in.

Texting while driving causes 1,600,000 accidents per year, according to the National Safety Council. A Harvard Center for Risk Analysis study found it results in 330,000 injuries per year.

If you didn’t flinch at those numbers, try this one: 11. That’s the number of teen deaths every day attributed to texting and driving, according to Institute for Highway Safety. In case you missed it, that’s 11 deaths every day. So, whatever day you read this, 11 teens will die. That’s 11 sons or daughters that won’t make it home from school, from practice or from the mall.

Eleven.

That’s an unnecessary number.

Here are some more numbers: People who text and drive are about six times more likely to cause an accident than driving intoxicated. Texting and driving is the same as having four beers and then getting behind the wheel.

Texting while driving makes you 23 times more likely to have an accident. At any given time across the country, 800,000 drivers are texting and driving.

So, what’s the solution to this national epidemic? Something on this large of a scale must be hard to stop, right?

No, actually it’s not. Here’s the solution: Stop texting and driving. The end.

Our mayor, Ted Franklin, knows it’s that easy, too. He has issued a proclamation designating Sept. 19 as “Drive 4 Pledges Day.” He’s calling for residents to take the pledge to never text and drive.

It’s part of AT&T’s “It Can Wait” campaign in Indiana and throughout the United States. The wireless provider is looking to educate the public about the dangers of texting while driving by encouraging consumers to take the personal pledge not to text while driving.

We echo their call to action.

Go to www.itcanwait.com to take the no-texting-while-driving pledge, and then share your promise with others via Twitter (#itcanwait) and Facebook.

It can wait.

No, really. It can wait.

THE ISSUE OUR VIEW

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WILLIAMS: America still the dream Is America really in as bad as shape like many people say it is? I’m 67 and when I look around, I don’t see it.Everything isn’t great but believe it or not, there has never been a time when everything was great, not even in those innocent Fifties we

    July 31, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Every town that has any sort of waterway -- whether it be a river or a creek or just a stream -- knows it will be used as a trash can. And oftentimes, tires are a favorite trash to be tossed into the waterways. Many organizations and concerned citize

    July 31, 2014

  • WERNER: The mystery of the Indian grave at Dykeman Last summer I contacted Thelma Conrad, executive director of the Cass County Historical Society, to ask her if she had any information on the Indian grave at Dykeman Park. Thelma had heard of it but had never seen the small marker that tells of the I

    July 31, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.