Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

November 17, 2013

KNISELY: Getting into the holiday spirit for a change

I’m normally the first one to rattle off a bah-humbug as Christmas inches its way onto my to-do list.

I’m sure I started out liking Christmas. What kid doesn’t like Christmas? But somewhere along the line I turned on the holiday season. I’ll stop short of saying I came to hate the holidays, but I wouldn’t protest if they ceased to exist either.

In my humble opinion, it’s just all too much. Much too much. Too many scheduling problems and too much money spent. Too many unwanted gifts and too many Christmas lights. Too many giant inflatable decorations scarring the landscape.

By mid-December I find myself pulling at my hair and shouting for all of it to stop. Stop the lights from blinking. Stop taking over my radio station with your incessant holiday ditties.

Stop the insanity! (I’ll give a cookie to any reader who emails me with the name of the person who coined that phrase. Note: I don’t actually have any cookies.)

I think it all became this big obligation to me so I just started going through the motions. I’d see my sister breaking out the Christmas CDs in her car even before she’d finish her children’s Halloween costumes. She’s outside stringing lights on every crook and crease she can find before all the trick or treat candy has been eaten. She’s dreaming about holiday baking and putting up the Christmas tree before Thanksgiving. She’s a maniac.

But something is different this year. I am looking forward to hosting family for Thanksgiving. I’m already planning the menu. I have been resisting the urge to put up my Christmas tree for over a week.

I blame the Delta Theta Chi Sorority. This is all their fault.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Feelings of the flowers I took one of those fun tests on Facebook to see what kind of flower I am and lo and behold, it said I was an orchid! That is so wrong because I have always thought I was the exact opposite of an orchid. I'd characterize myself as a daisy. You know,

    April 17, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet! Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it's down to $134 billion. People who believe in public belt-tightening applaud drops like that. I understand why: there are many reas

    April 17, 2014

  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Health care fraud can't go unchecked National health care spending tops $2.7 trillion annually. That leaves a lot of room, and temptation, for abuse of a bureaucracy that administers medical services. Medicare and Medicaid scams may cost taxpayers more than $98 billion each year. Health

    April 15, 2014

  • MARCUS: Truth is often unwelcome Jim Feelwright greeted me warmly as I entered the room: “Well, here he is, Mr. Negative.” Since it was a friendly meeting, I borrowed a famous line from the movies: “You can’t handle the truth.” “You,” he said, “just don’t want to see what’s really h

    April 15, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Signs of spring finally upon us Today I saw my first crocus popping up after the long winter. It was in a picture a friend posted on Facebook. Suddenly, it seemed everyone was posting pictures of buds on trees, robins on the lawn, green shoots coming up in the garden. It was almost

    April 15, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should e-cigarette marketing be regulated like tobacco?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.