Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

November 9, 2012

OUR VIEW: Get a head start on the holidays

If you’re looking for some holiday decoration tips or just want to get an early start on the holiday spirit, you might want to consider participating in Delta Theta Chi sorority’s annual “Homes for the Holiday” home and business tour.

The tour will feature four homes and a business in addition to a stop at Logansport Memorial Hospital’s Holly Bazaar.

The homes this year will feature decorations for Thanksgiving, Christmas and other holidays. 

Participants will have a chance to visit Cheryl Callahan’s home at 612 E. Wabash Ave. Callahan’s restoration project exposed the original bricks and some of the old ceiling.  

“What I tried to do is to bring the character of the house out,” she said. 

The tour will also feature a stop at Unique Travel, where owner Tom Coleman will show photographs he and other photographers have taken on trips around the world. His West Roselawn home will also be open to showcase the 600 Santa Clauses in Coleman’s collection. He’ll also have trees decked out for Easter and the Fourth of July.

Lynne Ness, meanwhile, will have her home decorated with Thanksgiving and fall decorations. Ness said she spent about three days decorating her home with pumpkin decorations and setting Thanksgiving tables for children and adults.

The hospital will also extend its Holly Bazaar into the home tour, and will sell holiday goods and decorations in a holiday-decorated atmosphere. The bazaar will feature a door prize of a 14-piece Willow Tree nativity scene.

The home tour has been going on for about 13 years, and sorority members say they usually sell between 200 and 500 tickets.

The home tour is a great local tradition, and the proceeds go to support a great cause. Money collected from the tour will help to pay for the printing of the Cass County Historical Workbook, a book the sorority distributes each year to third-graders throughout the county.

So what are you waiting for? Save some money by buying your tickets today.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.