Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

November 2, 2012

OUR VIEW: Gala a great way to show support

The Cass County Roosters are hosting their fifth annual Salute to the Armed Forces Gala in honor of those who received the Purple Heart during their service.

The event, scheduled for Saturday at Angie’s Catering and Cakes, will have food, drinks and a band, Tuxedo Junction, followed by a silent auction. The doors open at 5 p.m. Saturday, and the program starts at 7 p.m. 

The event in its first four years has benefited a number of veterans-related causes, including scholarships honoring Shawn Hensel and Kenneth McAninch, the two Cass County soldiers who lost their lives in Iraq and Afghanistan. Money from the event has also gone toward restoration of the World War II Roll of Honor outside the City Building and the Civil War Memorial at Mount Hope Cemetery.

The Roosters say the annual gala has raised from $20,000 to $43,000 each year, and this year’s proceeds will be divided between two causes, the Heroes Among Us program that seeks to take veterans to Washington, D.C., to visit the war memorials and a plan to create a park honoring veterans complete with a limestone statue honoring each branch of the military.

The gala has become a great tradition, and each program has featured emotional moments as residents pay tribute to the men and women who have laid down their lives in service to their country. This year’s event will be no exception as the Roosters honor recipients of the Purple Heart.

Sen. Randy Head will be the keynote speaker, outlining the history of the Purple Heart. All Purple Heart recipients will be admitted free.

The program will honor veterans such as Bob Powell, who received two Purple Hearts while serving in the infantry during World War II. Powell, a retired Logansport Police Department officer, suffered his battle wound when he was 18. He was on Omaha Beach five days after D-Day when a bullet entered his arm and came out through his chest. He turned just in time, he said, to avoid a gunshot to the heart.

The chance to honor veterans such as Powell, who just turned 87, is worth the cost of admission, but the event will also give local residents a chance to support some great causes. 

We can’t think of a better way to spend a Saturday evening.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.