Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 12, 2013

OUR VIEW: A day to enjoy community

By Saturday, the weatherman is predicting, this oppressive heat will have melted away, leaving behind a cool, summer day. And with autumn fast approaching, days like that will soon be in short supply.

So, we’re encouraging the community to take full advantage of the summer sun we have left and spend Saturday enjoying each other’s company. Logansport will be bustling with activity on Saturday, with the 2 Rivers on 2 Wheels Bike Tour and Art on the Avenue both taking place that day.

Bicyclist enthusiasts have been gearing up for Saturday’s ride, which runs in 15-, 32-, 42-, 50- and 60-mile routes that follow the Eel and Wabash rivers.

Not into biking? That doesn’t mean you and the family can’t join in the fun. All routes will begin and end at Riverside Park, with a mass start beginning around 8:30 a.m. Be there to see them off or come later to cheer them on at the finish line.

And then stick around for the 18th annual Art on the Avenue. The event features pieces for nearly all tastes. There will be jewelry, drawings, paintings, sculptures, glass artwork, photography and more.

There will be also entertainment, art, food and an area for children’s activities. Hosted by Cass County Arts Alliance, the event will run from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tickets are $2 per person or $5 per family.

Did we mention there will be food? Snow cones, popcorn, lemon shake-ups, cotton candy, elephant ears, pork loins, hamburgers, signature ham and brownies.

The event is a great way to introduce children to the world of art. Not only will they have a chance to view the work of area artists, there will be activities designed just for them: Face painting, balloon gifts, chalkboard frames, luminaries, and a puppet show.

Saturday’s art show will be fertile ground to grow a love of art in children. It’s a love that will serve them well and the community as a whole. It’s been proven time and again that the arts have an amazingly profound impact on building strong, vibrant communities. They enliven where we live.

So we encourage you and yours to attend one or attend both events this weekend. Either way, we think you’ll enjoy a chance to get out and enjoy the sunshine and your neighbors.

THE ISSUE OUR VIEW

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.