Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

September 12, 2013

OUR VIEW: A day to enjoy community

By Saturday, the weatherman is predicting, this oppressive heat will have melted away, leaving behind a cool, summer day. And with autumn fast approaching, days like that will soon be in short supply.

So, we’re encouraging the community to take full advantage of the summer sun we have left and spend Saturday enjoying each other’s company. Logansport will be bustling with activity on Saturday, with the 2 Rivers on 2 Wheels Bike Tour and Art on the Avenue both taking place that day.

Bicyclist enthusiasts have been gearing up for Saturday’s ride, which runs in 15-, 32-, 42-, 50- and 60-mile routes that follow the Eel and Wabash rivers.

Not into biking? That doesn’t mean you and the family can’t join in the fun. All routes will begin and end at Riverside Park, with a mass start beginning around 8:30 a.m. Be there to see them off or come later to cheer them on at the finish line.

And then stick around for the 18th annual Art on the Avenue. The event features pieces for nearly all tastes. There will be jewelry, drawings, paintings, sculptures, glass artwork, photography and more.

There will be also entertainment, art, food and an area for children’s activities. Hosted by Cass County Arts Alliance, the event will run from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tickets are $2 per person or $5 per family.

Did we mention there will be food? Snow cones, popcorn, lemon shake-ups, cotton candy, elephant ears, pork loins, hamburgers, signature ham and brownies.

The event is a great way to introduce children to the world of art. Not only will they have a chance to view the work of area artists, there will be activities designed just for them: Face painting, balloon gifts, chalkboard frames, luminaries, and a puppet show.

Saturday’s art show will be fertile ground to grow a love of art in children. It’s a love that will serve them well and the community as a whole. It’s been proven time and again that the arts have an amazingly profound impact on building strong, vibrant communities. They enliven where we live.

So we encourage you and yours to attend one or attend both events this weekend. Either way, we think you’ll enjoy a chance to get out and enjoy the sunshine and your neighbors.

THE ISSUE OUR VIEW

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.