Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 11, 2013

OUR VIEW: A reason to be wary

Today, we mark the 12th anniversary of the terror attacks of Sept. 11, 2001.

Nearly 3,000 people were killed as 19 al-Qaida terrorists hijacked four passenger jetliners. Two planes smashed into New York’s World Trade Center, causing the twin towers to fall. Another plowed into the Pentagon, and a fourth crashed into a field in western Pennsylvania.

Twelve years later, the scars remain fresh.

We remember when we got news of what had happened. We remember watching our television screens in stunned silence. We remember the anger. We remember the uncertainty and the fear.

We should take a moment this week to honor the men, women and children who died and the families they left behind.

We should particularly acknowledge the first responders who ran toward danger while others were rushing away.

And we should honor this nation’s men and women in uniform, who have served and sacrificed to keep our country safe.

We are more cautious now, a bit less trusting. So is it any wonder, after the decade-long war that resulted from the 9/11 attacks, polls last week revealed reluctance to strike Syria for using sarin gas against its own people?

Americans, by 48 percent to 29 percent, oppose the use of military action in Syria, a Pew poll said. Nearly 6 in 10 Americans are opposed to such strikes, an ABC News/Washington Post poll said.

We fear another endless, protracted war. But we are not living in fear.

A new tower rises above the New York skyline. Osama bin Laden is dead.

Last year, President Obama urged Americans to mark Sept. 11 as a National Day of Service and Remembrance.

The tradition dates to the immediate aftermath of the attacks, when Americans honored the memories of those who died by giving back to their communities.

They signed up for the military. They became police officers and firefighters. They rolled up their sleeves to donate blood and to serve those in need.

We must keep that spirit alive today and every day — even as we debate committing to more military action in the Middle East.

THE ISSUE The 12th anniversary of the 9/11 terror attacks on America. OUR VIEW We as a nation should pause in remembrance and honor.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.