Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

August 25, 2013

OUR VIEW: Farming heritage remains strong

If there was doubt that agriculture heritage is alive and well here, the area’s showing at the Hoosier Homestead awards ceremony at the Indiana State Fair should set the record straight.

This year, 58 families were recognized for having owned their farms for 100 consecutive years. Of those, six families call Carroll, Miami, Pulaski and Fulton counties home.

Soon we’ll see these farmers proudly displaying their signs designating them as Hoosier Homesteads. It’s a sight we can see on too many farms to count.

And that’s a good sign of these families’ commitment to farming in the area and pays homage to the state’s rich agricultural heritage.

Since the Hoosier Homestead program was instituted in 1976, more than 5,000 farms have received the honor.

Yes, agriculture is truly alive and well in Indiana.

And when you consider all the advancements, setbacks and hardships that have changed the farming industry in the last 100 years, their achievement is even more impressive.

Just ask Gary Raber, a local 2013 Hoosier Homestead winner. He’ll tell you how farming used to be and how plenty has changed.

In his 40 years in the industry, he recalls planting corn with a two-row corn planter. Now, he has someone harvesting corn for him with a 12-row combine.

But one thing has always been the same.

“I just have dirt in my blood,” Raber said of farming.

Raber and the other recipients of Homestead awards show us it’s about more than just farming. They’re doing more than raising livestock and growing food. They’re also raising families and growing community.

In essence, these farms are small businesses. There aren’t many businesses that can say they have survived for more than a century. And these businesses have played a vital role in the state’s economic stability.

In 2008, the sale of all farmers’ commodities totaled more than $10 billion. In 2009, Indiana ranked 15th in the nation for total farm sales.

In many cases, these Hoosier Homesteads are leading the way.

So for that, we offer big congratulations to our area recipients as they look forward to another 100 years of living off the land.

THE ISSUE Six families honored as Hoosier Homesteads. OUR VIEW

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WILLIAMS: America still the dream Is America really in as bad as shape like many people say it is? I’m 67 and when I look around, I don’t see it.Everything isn’t great but believe it or not, there has never been a time when everything was great, not even in those innocent Fifties we

    July 31, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Every town that has any sort of waterway -- whether it be a river or a creek or just a stream -- knows it will be used as a trash can. And oftentimes, tires are a favorite trash to be tossed into the waterways. Many organizations and concerned citize

    July 31, 2014

  • WERNER: The mystery of the Indian grave at Dykeman Last summer I contacted Thelma Conrad, executive director of the Cass County Historical Society, to ask her if she had any information on the Indian grave at Dykeman Park. Thelma had heard of it but had never seen the small marker that tells of the I

    July 31, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should the U.S. impose a travel ban on three West African nations in response to a growing Ebola virus outbreak?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.