Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 30, 2012

Our View: A positive move for local economy

The issue: The Logansport-Cass County Economic Development Commission last week approved a bylaws change to restructure its board.

Our view:  We’re glad to see the city and its economic development arm back on the same page.

The Logansport-Cass County Economic Development Foundation’s board of directors agreed last week to cuts its size by more than half. Effective  immediately, the board dropped to nine members, down from the previous 21.

The move came in response to an effort by the Logansport City Council to give elected officials a greater voice in the organization. The council in July had voted 4-3 in favor of a plan that would restructure the board of directors to include the mayor, a Logansport councilman, a Cass County commissioner, a county councilman, the superintendent of Logansport Municipal Utilities and two representatives of the local business community.

If the foundation declined to go along with the change, officials had suggested, the city would cut off funding, which amounts to about $90,000 a year.

Backers of the change said they wanted a greater number of board members directly answerable to the voters.

Foundation leaders had initially resisted the move, insisting that the board was already representative of the community. They also argued that stacking the board with elected officials might see it shifting its focus with each new election, hampering the organization’s efforts to maintain a long-term vision.

The new, nine-member board represents a compromise between those positions. It gives elected officials four spots on the board while still giving  representatives of the local business community a voting majority.

The smaller size also represents a bow to those who claimed the old board was unweildy. LEDF representatives say the new, smaller board will be able to  respond more quickly to the changing economic development landscape.

Meanwhile, the 12 members who lost their board seats will stay involved in the organization’s activities through a committee structure that will carry out much  of the work that had been handled by the larger board.

We were glad to see Friday’s unanimous vote approving this new structure, and we applaud everyone involved in bringing this compromise about.

Coupled with the foundation’s announcement that it hopes to have a new president in place within the next 10 days, we find reason for optimism about this community’s economic future.

It’s great to see the city and its economic development arm back on the same page. Now, with a new LEDF president about to be named, the foundation and  local leaders can get back to the business at hand, finding jobs for Logansport and Cass County.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.