Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

February 17, 2013

KNISELY: A new Sunday paper

— Change.

It’s a scary word. I understand. Most people aren’t fans of it. I’m among that group.

I especially hate change just for the sake of change. It’s just unnecessary, and we’re all too busy for that kind of behavior. That’s why I didn’t come waltzing into the Pharos-Tribune a little over a month ago and just start switching things up willy-nilly for the sheer fun of it.

I waited. I sat back and watched. I contemplated, analyzed, and contemplated again.

In that time, I heard from many readers about their concerns and compliments of our paper, and came up with a few of my own.

What I’ve found is that some change is necessary. And, starting next Sunday, you’ll see some noticeable changes in the paper.

We’re switching up our presentation of the Lifestyle and Business sections. Why? Because we believe the current structure isn’t all that reader-friendly.

Starting Sunday, Feb. 24, the C and D sections will be combined into one. But don’t read that as the Sunday paper is getting smaller. It’s not. It’s just being packaged differently. Some items currently in the Sunday Lifestyle section will now be printed during the week in the A section. The things we’re moving fit better in the news section throughout the week as opposed to Sunday Lifestyle. Our goal is to give you more information about community happenings (i.e. library events and club meetings) in a more timely fashion. You’ll find our daily events calendar on Page A3 to be more thorough with this change as well.

One of the biggest changes will be our new monthly Seniors Page. Printing on the last Sunday of the month, the page will include a full month of schedules and menus for the Downtown Senior Center and Area Five Senior Center. What’s now printed weekly throughout the C section will be grouped together on one easy-to-pull-out-and-keep page, which will also feature the History Buff column by Richard Copeland and historical photographs.

Many items will continue to appear weekly in the new expanded Lifestyle section. You’ll still find the weekly lifestyle feature, couples and individuals celebrating milestones, Dave Kitchell’s In the Past column, military news and generations photos. The Social Security column, however, will continue to run weekly. You’ll still find it on Sunday, just in the A section.

You’ll still find business news on Sundays. In fact, you’ll find even more of it as we’re adding a second Business Page. We’ve added a new columnist who offers advice to job seekers, as well as Consumer Reports and Co-Op Corner, a feature highlighting local students that’s moving from the weekly Education Page.

The Advice and Entertainment Page will stay in the C section, but the Comics Page will move to the B section.

That all probably sounds complicated, but once you pick up your Sunday paper next week, I think it will all make sense.

Our goal is to offer you the best paper possible and I think these changes will get us one step closer. It’s an ever-moving target, so this won’t be the last change you see from us.

Just as with this change, I’ll always clue you in on what’s going on before changes are made. Change is easier to handle when you see it coming.

As we experience growing pains together, I’m happy to hear from you. My contact information is at the end of this column, so feel free to use it. I can’t promise I’ll have all the answers you seek, but my door is always open.

One thing I can promise you, though, is that every change we make will be with purpose.

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

  • PETERS: Grizzly bear may help human medicine I've gained 5 pounds since last summer. My body mass index (BMI) is still fine, but I need to stop gaining to keep it that way. Grizzly bears put my weight gain to shame. In the late summer, they eat some 50,000 calories per day and gain more than 1

    April 18, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Feelings of the flowers I took one of those fun tests on Facebook to see what kind of flower I am and lo and behold, it said I was an orchid! That is so wrong because I have always thought I was the exact opposite of an orchid. I'd characterize myself as a daisy. You know,

    April 17, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet! Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it's down to $134 billion. People who believe in public belt-tightening applaud drops like that. I understand why: there are many reas

    April 17, 2014

  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.