Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

February 17, 2013

KNISELY: A new Sunday paper

— Change.

It’s a scary word. I understand. Most people aren’t fans of it. I’m among that group.

I especially hate change just for the sake of change. It’s just unnecessary, and we’re all too busy for that kind of behavior. That’s why I didn’t come waltzing into the Pharos-Tribune a little over a month ago and just start switching things up willy-nilly for the sheer fun of it.

I waited. I sat back and watched. I contemplated, analyzed, and contemplated again.

In that time, I heard from many readers about their concerns and compliments of our paper, and came up with a few of my own.

What I’ve found is that some change is necessary. And, starting next Sunday, you’ll see some noticeable changes in the paper.

We’re switching up our presentation of the Lifestyle and Business sections. Why? Because we believe the current structure isn’t all that reader-friendly.

Starting Sunday, Feb. 24, the C and D sections will be combined into one. But don’t read that as the Sunday paper is getting smaller. It’s not. It’s just being packaged differently. Some items currently in the Sunday Lifestyle section will now be printed during the week in the A section. The things we’re moving fit better in the news section throughout the week as opposed to Sunday Lifestyle. Our goal is to give you more information about community happenings (i.e. library events and club meetings) in a more timely fashion. You’ll find our daily events calendar on Page A3 to be more thorough with this change as well.

One of the biggest changes will be our new monthly Seniors Page. Printing on the last Sunday of the month, the page will include a full month of schedules and menus for the Downtown Senior Center and Area Five Senior Center. What’s now printed weekly throughout the C section will be grouped together on one easy-to-pull-out-and-keep page, which will also feature the History Buff column by Richard Copeland and historical photographs.

Many items will continue to appear weekly in the new expanded Lifestyle section. You’ll still find the weekly lifestyle feature, couples and individuals celebrating milestones, Dave Kitchell’s In the Past column, military news and generations photos. The Social Security column, however, will continue to run weekly. You’ll still find it on Sunday, just in the A section.

You’ll still find business news on Sundays. In fact, you’ll find even more of it as we’re adding a second Business Page. We’ve added a new columnist who offers advice to job seekers, as well as Consumer Reports and Co-Op Corner, a feature highlighting local students that’s moving from the weekly Education Page.

The Advice and Entertainment Page will stay in the C section, but the Comics Page will move to the B section.

That all probably sounds complicated, but once you pick up your Sunday paper next week, I think it will all make sense.

Our goal is to offer you the best paper possible and I think these changes will get us one step closer. It’s an ever-moving target, so this won’t be the last change you see from us.

Just as with this change, I’ll always clue you in on what’s going on before changes are made. Change is easier to handle when you see it coming.

As we experience growing pains together, I’m happy to hear from you. My contact information is at the end of this column, so feel free to use it. I can’t promise I’ll have all the answers you seek, but my door is always open.

One thing I can promise you, though, is that every change we make will be with purpose.

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Palestinians and Israeli Soldiers Clash Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.