Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

February 17, 2013

KNISELY: A new Sunday paper

— Change.

It’s a scary word. I understand. Most people aren’t fans of it. I’m among that group.

I especially hate change just for the sake of change. It’s just unnecessary, and we’re all too busy for that kind of behavior. That’s why I didn’t come waltzing into the Pharos-Tribune a little over a month ago and just start switching things up willy-nilly for the sheer fun of it.

I waited. I sat back and watched. I contemplated, analyzed, and contemplated again.

In that time, I heard from many readers about their concerns and compliments of our paper, and came up with a few of my own.

What I’ve found is that some change is necessary. And, starting next Sunday, you’ll see some noticeable changes in the paper.

We’re switching up our presentation of the Lifestyle and Business sections. Why? Because we believe the current structure isn’t all that reader-friendly.

Starting Sunday, Feb. 24, the C and D sections will be combined into one. But don’t read that as the Sunday paper is getting smaller. It’s not. It’s just being packaged differently. Some items currently in the Sunday Lifestyle section will now be printed during the week in the A section. The things we’re moving fit better in the news section throughout the week as opposed to Sunday Lifestyle. Our goal is to give you more information about community happenings (i.e. library events and club meetings) in a more timely fashion. You’ll find our daily events calendar on Page A3 to be more thorough with this change as well.

One of the biggest changes will be our new monthly Seniors Page. Printing on the last Sunday of the month, the page will include a full month of schedules and menus for the Downtown Senior Center and Area Five Senior Center. What’s now printed weekly throughout the C section will be grouped together on one easy-to-pull-out-and-keep page, which will also feature the History Buff column by Richard Copeland and historical photographs.

Many items will continue to appear weekly in the new expanded Lifestyle section. You’ll still find the weekly lifestyle feature, couples and individuals celebrating milestones, Dave Kitchell’s In the Past column, military news and generations photos. The Social Security column, however, will continue to run weekly. You’ll still find it on Sunday, just in the A section.

You’ll still find business news on Sundays. In fact, you’ll find even more of it as we’re adding a second Business Page. We’ve added a new columnist who offers advice to job seekers, as well as Consumer Reports and Co-Op Corner, a feature highlighting local students that’s moving from the weekly Education Page.

The Advice and Entertainment Page will stay in the C section, but the Comics Page will move to the B section.

That all probably sounds complicated, but once you pick up your Sunday paper next week, I think it will all make sense.

Our goal is to offer you the best paper possible and I think these changes will get us one step closer. It’s an ever-moving target, so this won’t be the last change you see from us.

Just as with this change, I’ll always clue you in on what’s going on before changes are made. Change is easier to handle when you see it coming.

As we experience growing pains together, I’m happy to hear from you. My contact information is at the end of this column, so feel free to use it. I can’t promise I’ll have all the answers you seek, but my door is always open.

One thing I can promise you, though, is that every change we make will be with purpose.

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WILLIAMS: Life is not all choices There is a post on Facebook that says, “Everything you do is based on the choices you make. It’s not your parents, your past relationships, your job, the economy, the weather, an argument or your age that is to blame. You and only you are responsible

    August 21, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Reining in unlimited farm subsidies Reining in unlimitedfarm subsidiesIn January, President Obama declared that despite Congressional logjams, “America does not stand still — and neither will I. So wherever and whenever I can take steps without legislation to expand opportunity for Ame

    August 21, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why government openness matters One of the fundamental lessons of the 9/11 tragedy was that our government carried a share of blame for the failure to stop the attacks. Not because it was asleep at the switch or ignorant of the dangers that Al Qaeda posed, but because the agencies

    August 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Continue work of modernizing courts Indiana’s new chief justice, Loretta Rush, has a lot on her plate. She not only has to preside over the Indiana Supreme Court, but also to modernize the state’s other courts as well.Indiana is well on its way toward bringing courts into the 21st cent

    August 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Mo-ped law long overdue We’ve all seen them on the streets, and their popularity is only growing. Mo-peds have coasted in a legal grey area for years in Indiana.A lack of registration, testing and licensure allowed those without other means of transport to join other vehicl

    August 20, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Quality of life and leaders both matter It was with some astonishment and much disappointment I read in the Aug. 5 edition of the Pharos-Tribune that one of our local city councilmen was quoted as saying that previous efforts in Logansport to use Tax Increment Financing money for quality o

    August 20, 2014

  • RAMPELL: Here comes Entrepreneur Barbie WASHINGTON — Lego’s groundbreaking female-scientists set sold out almost immediately after it was released this month. But never fear, fans of feminist toys: A new Barbie doll, now in stock, is also shattering the plastic ceiling.Yes, that swan-necke

    August 20, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Police force turning into military? The images this week of Ferguson, Mo., in the wake of the civil unrest caused by the death of unarmed African-American teenager Michael Brown have been shocking to say the least. Were the dateline removed from the pictures, one could easily imagine t

    August 19, 2014

  • MARCUS: Hoosier workers not gaining on the nation A few readers of the South Bend newspaper have sent emails complaining that either they do not understand my columns or that I waste their time by not sticking to the facts. That I include some of my conclusions from the data seems to be an irritant.

    August 19, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Stock market guru will work for food At the height of its power, the photography company Kodak employed more than 140,000 people and was worth $28 billion dollars. They even invented the first digital camera. But today Kodak is bankrupt, and the new face of digital photography has becom

    August 19, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Does Indiana need a statewide water management plan and an administrator to implement it?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
US Mission to Rescue Hostages in Syria Failed Manfred, Torre and MLB Take Ice Bucket Challenge Bank of America Reaches Record $17B Settlement Holder Reassures Ferguson Community With Visit GlobalPost CEO Remembers Foley As a Brave Man Seth Meyers Rolls Out Emmy Red Carpet Obama: World Is Appalled by Murder of Journalist Israel, Militants Trade Fire After Talks Fail Pres. George W. Bush Takes Ice Bucket Challenge Pierce Brosnan's Call to Join the Expendables Changes Coming to No-Fly List Raw: IDF Footage Said to Show Airstrikes Police: Ferguson More Peaceful Raw: Aftermath of Airstrike in Gaza Raw: Thousands March on Pakistani Parliament Raw: World's Oldest Man Lives in Japan Fire Crews Tame Yosemite Fire Raw: Police Weapon Drawn Near Protesters, Media Raw: Explosions in Gaza As Airstrikes Resume Charter Schools Alter Post-Katrina Landscape
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.