Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

February 17, 2013

KNISELY: A new Sunday paper

— Change.

It’s a scary word. I understand. Most people aren’t fans of it. I’m among that group.

I especially hate change just for the sake of change. It’s just unnecessary, and we’re all too busy for that kind of behavior. That’s why I didn’t come waltzing into the Pharos-Tribune a little over a month ago and just start switching things up willy-nilly for the sheer fun of it.

I waited. I sat back and watched. I contemplated, analyzed, and contemplated again.

In that time, I heard from many readers about their concerns and compliments of our paper, and came up with a few of my own.

What I’ve found is that some change is necessary. And, starting next Sunday, you’ll see some noticeable changes in the paper.

We’re switching up our presentation of the Lifestyle and Business sections. Why? Because we believe the current structure isn’t all that reader-friendly.

Starting Sunday, Feb. 24, the C and D sections will be combined into one. But don’t read that as the Sunday paper is getting smaller. It’s not. It’s just being packaged differently. Some items currently in the Sunday Lifestyle section will now be printed during the week in the A section. The things we’re moving fit better in the news section throughout the week as opposed to Sunday Lifestyle. Our goal is to give you more information about community happenings (i.e. library events and club meetings) in a more timely fashion. You’ll find our daily events calendar on Page A3 to be more thorough with this change as well.

One of the biggest changes will be our new monthly Seniors Page. Printing on the last Sunday of the month, the page will include a full month of schedules and menus for the Downtown Senior Center and Area Five Senior Center. What’s now printed weekly throughout the C section will be grouped together on one easy-to-pull-out-and-keep page, which will also feature the History Buff column by Richard Copeland and historical photographs.

Many items will continue to appear weekly in the new expanded Lifestyle section. You’ll still find the weekly lifestyle feature, couples and individuals celebrating milestones, Dave Kitchell’s In the Past column, military news and generations photos. The Social Security column, however, will continue to run weekly. You’ll still find it on Sunday, just in the A section.

You’ll still find business news on Sundays. In fact, you’ll find even more of it as we’re adding a second Business Page. We’ve added a new columnist who offers advice to job seekers, as well as Consumer Reports and Co-Op Corner, a feature highlighting local students that’s moving from the weekly Education Page.

The Advice and Entertainment Page will stay in the C section, but the Comics Page will move to the B section.

That all probably sounds complicated, but once you pick up your Sunday paper next week, I think it will all make sense.

Our goal is to offer you the best paper possible and I think these changes will get us one step closer. It’s an ever-moving target, so this won’t be the last change you see from us.

Just as with this change, I’ll always clue you in on what’s going on before changes are made. Change is easier to handle when you see it coming.

As we experience growing pains together, I’m happy to hear from you. My contact information is at the end of this column, so feel free to use it. I can’t promise I’ll have all the answers you seek, but my door is always open.

One thing I can promise you, though, is that every change we make will be with purpose.

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

  • DORAN: How to handle the pool problem By Terry DoranGuest columnistAs a longtime board member of the parks board and having grown up nearby, it troubles me to read of the decision to close the city pool at Tower Park. This is obviously not a new discussion. I sat in on many meetings with

    July 27, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.