Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

July 31, 2013

KITCHELL: 'Annexation light' not good public policy

When should a community expand its borders and when shouldn’t it?

That’s a question with answers that vary depending on the community and the relationships between cities and residents in the outskirts just beyond the city limits.

Annexation makes perfect sense in communities when residents just outside the city limits already receive virtually all the benefits of living in an incorporated city without having to pay the taxes that make a city a city.

Unfortunately, the Logansport City Council’s passage of annexation ordinances to appease residents south of the city does not represent classic annexation. It represents what could be termed “annexation light” because it exempts the newest parts of the city from certain city requirements while assuring that the city will get its share of any economic growth there. This type of annexation errs on the side of the city, with residents who are annexed receiving no assurances that they’ll ever receive the full complement of city services the rest of the city residents do.

Another reason why annexation light is bad public policy is that it repeals some of what the city has already done to raise the standard of living for most of its residents. Lifting the ban on open burning for instance goes back to a time when the city allowed burning during the spring and the fall, primarily to rid property owners of dead limbs and leaves. That exemption ended when the city secured grant funding for Street Department equipment. One of the requirements of the grant was that open burning be banned in the city. What happens the next time the city applies for grant funding for similar equipment is anyone’s guess, but if allowing open burning in the new annexed areas is allowed, it creates a loophole that could hurt the city with future grants, not to mention annoy residents and employs of that area who have breathing difficulties such as lung disease, COPD or emphysema.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.