Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

October 18, 2012

Letter: Don’t penalize rich for being successful

— Just about every couple wants the American dream to come true. That is they want their children to be the smartest in a classroom and the best athlete on the field and be the best looking kid in school. To be popular, or be voted king or queen of the prom. In other words, to “be successful.”

The school classroom is always trying to be fair to all kids, treating everyone equal and being sure everyone gets his or her turn. Teaching to the kids what is fair and what is wrong like cheating. Then you watch your child go on to getting a part-time job and going to college at the same time, which is hard, but many kids do this. Other kids sit at home, run around with their friends and in general have a good time maybe getting a low-paying job. Later on, some of these kids get on the free and handout bandwagon programs and continue on welfare their entire life. 

After college your child starts at an entry-level job, works many hours to get ahead and be successful. Then, after 10 or 15 years, he has worked his way up the success ladder, which requires many tireless hours away from the family.

Meanwhile, the people on welfare or the person who just can’t seem to hold a job very long is spending most of their time fishing or playing video games.

Now, my child has found out that the president thinks success is bad and should be punished by excessive taxes, so that the people fishing can have better things. He is now paying 47 percent of his income in taxes because he just crossed that $750,000 line that says he is rich. This leaves him with just $352,000. This isn’t bad, but if the president is re-elected then his taxes go up to 58 percent. He has become so upset about the state of affairs that if Obama gets elected he is quitting his job, selling off everything except his pickup truck and moving to a state where he can just retire and live off the state.

Obama wants the rich to pay more than their fair share, I think everyone should pay the same percent, and if you haven’t paid in, you don’t get anything back. What do you think is fair?

Jerry Anderson

Logansport

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

  • GUTWEIN: Strengthening Indiana for Hoosier veterans America's legacy was built on the foundation created by our brave service men and women. Whether they defended our nation's borders overseas or assisted Hoosiers during the harsh winter months, we need to do everything we can to make Indiana the best

    April 20, 2014

  • CEPEDA: Baseball's sacred temple Call it a character defect, but I don't like baseball. And I especially don't like the Chicago Cubs -- losers I never found lovable. I grew up less than a mile west of Wrigley Field and games there represented summer-long inconveniences such as midda

    April 20, 2014

  • HOWEY: Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 20, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Fire Engulfs Tower Block in China Ocean Drones Making Waves in Research World Breakfast Foods Are Getting Pricier Raw: Ferry Captain Received Medical Treatment Hundreds Gather for Denver Pot Rally on Easter Transcript Reveals Confusion in Ferry Evacuation Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.