Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

June 30, 2013

MULLEN: What if there was no more football?

With apologies to John Lennon, “Imagine there’s no football, it isn’t hard to do, no blocks and tackles, and no extra points too, imagine Sooners and Cowboys, living life in peace ...”

OK, that’s taking things a bit too far. No football? Unthinkable. You might as well do away with air, water, bacon or doughnuts, for crying out loud.

No football? That was the possibility raised the other day by former Detroit Lions great and Pro Football Hall of Famer Lem Barney.

Speaking at a football camp recently in Southfield, Mich., Barney had some harsh words for his former profession.

He said within the next two decades, football will disappear, and added he wishes he had been a truck driver or a cab driver, anything but a football player.

He said society will do away with football because of the game’s inherent violence, and increasing awareness of the dangers of head trauma and the deaths of former football stars like Bubba Smith, Dave Duerson and Junior Seau.

Sunday he backed off, somewhat, saying the camp setting was not the proper forum for his remarks, though he said he stands by them. He said he doesn’t want to discourage young men from playing the game, he just wants them to do it safely.

From the pee-wee level to the pros, efforts are being made to make the game safer. Players no longer are being taught to lead with their heads when they tackle, the amount of contact allowed in practice is changing, players with concussions are not allowed to return to the field before they pass a battery of tests and devices that sense possible concussions are being tested.

At present there is no device that will keep football players free from concussions, said Dave Halstead, technical director for Southern Impact Research Center, a testing lab for sports equipment, on ABC’s “Nightline.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Health care fraud can't go unchecked National health care spending tops $2.7 trillion annually. That leaves a lot of room, and temptation, for abuse of a bureaucracy that administers medical services. Medicare and Medicaid scams may cost taxpayers more than $98 billion each year. Health

    April 15, 2014

  • MARCUS: Truth is often unwelcome Jim Feelwright greeted me warmly as I entered the room: “Well, here he is, Mr. Negative.” Since it was a friendly meeting, I borrowed a famous line from the movies: “You can’t handle the truth.” “You,” he said, “just don’t want to see what’s really h

    April 15, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Signs of spring finally upon us Today I saw my first crocus popping up after the long winter. It was in a picture a friend posted on Facebook. Suddenly, it seemed everyone was posting pictures of buds on trees, robins on the lawn, green shoots coming up in the garden. It was almost

    April 15, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Tuesday, April 15, 2014 Thankful to community for its care, prayers Thank you to Kyle Rans, Harrison-Metzger-Rans, Guardian Angels Hospice, Royal Center first responders and ambulance drivers for the gentle care and comforting words extended to our family. Thank you to the

    April 15, 2014

  • Brian Bosma BOSMA: House Republicans achieve legislative priorities When the General Assembly began its work last November, as Speaker I pledged a session driven by five main issues: increased road funding, enhanced job training, early childhood education, fair business taxation and cutting government red tape. With

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • LYONS: Taking pity on the Plutocrats "Should any political party attempt to abolish social security, unemployment insurance, and eliminate labor laws and farm programs, you would not hear of that party again in our political history. There is a tiny splinter group, of course, that belie

    April 14, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should e-cigarette marketing be regulated like tobacco?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.