Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

January 15, 2014

NUSBAUM: Dangers will come over time

I want to explain why I think the proposed Pyrolyzer plant is a dangerous idea.

The information I present comes from medical journals, textbooks, and reports by the US Environmental Protection Agency, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the World Health Organization.

I am a board certified neurologist and have practiced medicine for more than 50 years. Some of my patients in Southern California were poisoned by industrial toxins. If the proposed Pyrolyzer LLC plant is built in Logansport, I believe we will all be in danger.

Pyrolyzer LLC plans to bring great quantities of trash and garbage to Logansport each day. Here they plan to sort, process, and then “pyrolyze” it by heating it to a maximum of 403 degrees Fahrenheit to generate fuel for electricity. It will also generate many types of toxic or poisonous fumes and vapors.

Among these poisonous fumes are dioxins, mercury, lead and arsenic.

Pyrolyzer also plans to use great quantities of water to “scrub” the fumes and vapors, but most of these poisons will escape into the air. And their plans to dispose of this poisonous water are very vague. Our rivers, wells, and ground water are threatened.

I want to discuss each of these toxins in turn. This time I will tell you about dioxins.

There are 39 types of dioxins. The worst is called polychlorinated benzodioxin. The World Health Organization says it is the most dangerous of all poisons. This is because of its lethality, wide impact, and permanence.

Dioxins were a component of Agent Orange, infamously used during the Vietnam War and now outlawed.

Dioxins enter your body as you breathe or eat or drink. Once in, you cannot get rid of them. No one can. In adults, we most likely will see more cancers, Alzheimer’s, and other issues. In children, we will undoubtedly see more asthma, more learning disabilities, problems with maturation, and other illnesses. In babies, we will almost certainly see more deformed and retarded infants, and more still-births. In all of us, our immune systems will be weakened. We will be less resistant to infections and cancers. More people will almost certainly be sick and die younger.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

  • DORAN: How to handle the pool problem By Terry DoranGuest columnistAs a longtime board member of the parks board and having grown up nearby, it troubles me to read of the decision to close the city pool at Tower Park. This is obviously not a new discussion. I sat in on many meetings with

    July 27, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.