Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

January 15, 2014

NUSBAUM: Dangers will come over time

I want to explain why I think the proposed Pyrolyzer plant is a dangerous idea.

The information I present comes from medical journals, textbooks, and reports by the US Environmental Protection Agency, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the World Health Organization.

I am a board certified neurologist and have practiced medicine for more than 50 years. Some of my patients in Southern California were poisoned by industrial toxins. If the proposed Pyrolyzer LLC plant is built in Logansport, I believe we will all be in danger.

Pyrolyzer LLC plans to bring great quantities of trash and garbage to Logansport each day. Here they plan to sort, process, and then “pyrolyze” it by heating it to a maximum of 403 degrees Fahrenheit to generate fuel for electricity. It will also generate many types of toxic or poisonous fumes and vapors.

Among these poisonous fumes are dioxins, mercury, lead and arsenic.

Pyrolyzer also plans to use great quantities of water to “scrub” the fumes and vapors, but most of these poisons will escape into the air. And their plans to dispose of this poisonous water are very vague. Our rivers, wells, and ground water are threatened.

I want to discuss each of these toxins in turn. This time I will tell you about dioxins.

There are 39 types of dioxins. The worst is called polychlorinated benzodioxin. The World Health Organization says it is the most dangerous of all poisons. This is because of its lethality, wide impact, and permanence.

Dioxins were a component of Agent Orange, infamously used during the Vietnam War and now outlawed.

Dioxins enter your body as you breathe or eat or drink. Once in, you cannot get rid of them. No one can. In adults, we most likely will see more cancers, Alzheimer’s, and other issues. In children, we will undoubtedly see more asthma, more learning disabilities, problems with maturation, and other illnesses. In babies, we will almost certainly see more deformed and retarded infants, and more still-births. In all of us, our immune systems will be weakened. We will be less resistant to infections and cancers. More people will almost certainly be sick and die younger.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.