Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

October 7, 2012

Our View: Downtown still needs housing

— Opponents showed up in force last month as the Logansport Board of Zoning Appeals rejected a proposed senior housing project on the current site of the farmers market.

Some were surrounding business owners concerned about potential parking issues. Others were worried about the farmers market losing its spot.

And still others were concerned about the loss of a community gathering place for events such as Celebrate Logansport and the Taste of Cass County. Some liked the small park next to the lot, and they hated to disrupt the park board’s vision for what would effectively be an expansion of Little Turtle Waterway Plaza.

It’s possible some of those issues could have been worked out. Park officials had indicated a willingness to revise their plans.

Perhaps the developers could have found a way to add more parking.

The problem, in the end, was a lack of time. The developers were up against a deadline to apply for tax credits that would make the project feasible. Even a delay in the BZA’s approval would have effectively derailed the project for at least a year.

Our hope is that last week’s meeting won’t be the end of the discussion.

Logansport officials for years have been working to bring more residents downtown. A 44-unit senior housing complex would have given a big boost to that effort.

Some have suggested that there might be better places downtown to build such a structure. Others have encouraged developers to consider rehabilitating an existing building.

We’d like to see city officials and developers come back with a new plan.

It might also help if the various parties avoid cutting the schedule so close next time around.

We understand that developers can’t get everyone involved in a project on the ground floor. Various details clearly need to be worked out before taking a project public.

Still, the public discussion ought to begin as early as possible. If nothing else, a project’s backers need to find out where the opposition lies, so that they can address the critics and perhaps find answers to their complaints.

That sort of process takes months, not days or weeks. It’s not too early to begin work on an alternate plan.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Feelings of the flowers I took one of those fun tests on Facebook to see what kind of flower I am and lo and behold, it said I was an orchid! That is so wrong because I have always thought I was the exact opposite of an orchid. I'd characterize myself as a daisy. You know,

    April 17, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet! Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it's down to $134 billion. People who believe in public belt-tightening applaud drops like that. I understand why: there are many reas

    April 17, 2014

  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Health care fraud can't go unchecked National health care spending tops $2.7 trillion annually. That leaves a lot of room, and temptation, for abuse of a bureaucracy that administers medical services. Medicare and Medicaid scams may cost taxpayers more than $98 billion each year. Health

    April 15, 2014

  • MARCUS: Truth is often unwelcome Jim Feelwright greeted me warmly as I entered the room: “Well, here he is, Mr. Negative.” Since it was a friendly meeting, I borrowed a famous line from the movies: “You can’t handle the truth.” “You,” he said, “just don’t want to see what’s really h

    April 15, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Signs of spring finally upon us Today I saw my first crocus popping up after the long winter. It was in a picture a friend posted on Facebook. Suddenly, it seemed everyone was posting pictures of buds on trees, robins on the lawn, green shoots coming up in the garden. It was almost

    April 15, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should e-cigarette marketing be regulated like tobacco?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.