Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

May 14, 2013

MARCUS: Where to put your money

Snail Smith’s real name is Stanley, but his contorted windup and slow pitches gave him the nickname, Snail, during his short baseball career.

“What?” Snail asked the word slowly but clearly said.

“What what?” I responded.

“What should a person do about it?” Snail said.

“It being what?” I asked.

“Money,” he said. “What should a person do about money? Particularly if they are going up.”

 “What’s going up?” I was getting confused.

“Interest rates,” he asserted.

“Interest rates are holding fairly steady,” I said. “Thanks to the perhaps mistaken policy of the Federal Reserve, interest rates are virtually guaranteed not to rise until 2015.”

“But if they do, what do you do with it?” Snail asked again. “Where do you put it? Different economists have different ideas.”

“Right,” I said. “Some economists will tell you that the stock market will fall if interest rates rise. What they mean is that the price of any particular stock will decline unless the company can raise its dividend rate so that the yield on the stock maintains its risk differential vs. the market interest rate.”

“You understand what you just said?” Snail asked.

“Yes, imperfectly, but yes,” I confessed. “Bonds are similar. If interest rates rise, the fixed interest payment on a bond is less attractive and the price of the bond declines.”

“So bonds and stocks both lose value when interest rates rise,” Snail said.

“More or less,” I said cautiously. “Each firm and each bond offering is different, and you can only expect a general tendency of movement in prices. Plus, if you hold a bond to maturity, its face value does not change and your capital is protected. Then too, stocks can rebound quickly, as we have seen, with changes in expectations about economic conditions.”

“How about gold?” Snail asked.

“Sterile,” I sneered my best economist sneer. “Gold itself pays no dividends or interest. Its basic value rests on the costs of production and the demand for gold in industry and fashion. Then there is the speculative demand for gold, a factor based on fluctuations in fear about inflation and the value of money itself.”

“Will higher interest rates mean higher commodity prices for copper and corn and such?” Snail wanted to know. “Should I put my money there to protect against inflation?”

“What’s this concern with inflation?” I said.

“If interest rates rise, won’t prices in general rise giving us inflation, a decline in the value of money?” Snail said.

“Maybe,” I said. “Modest increases in interest rates do not necessarily bring about inflation or deflation. Much depends on the fundamental factors underlying demand and supply of goods and services in the economy.”

“You know,” Snail said, “In baseball some guys threw a pitch that was hard to hit. It twisted and turned, and we called those guys what I must call you, “Screwball.”

Morton J. Marcus is an economist, writer and speaker formerly with the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University. He can be reached at mortonjmarcus@yahoo.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The sheer dumbness of an enormous dome There is a TV series about an entire town trapped under a giant, mysterious crystal-clear dome that appears out of the blue one day. The dome is impenetrable; no one can get in, no one can get out. Who made the dome? Aliens? God? A super-secret branc

    July 22, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Road to funding Indiana highways jammed If you’ve driven on either of Indiana’s two busiest interstates recently, you’ll understand why a blue-ribbon commission last week called for adding traffic lanes to those harrowing highways.The report, issued by the Governor’s Blue Ribbon Panel on T

    July 21, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' House Committee at Odds Over Obama Lawsuit Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: UN School Used As Shelter Hit by Tank Shell Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.