Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

May 14, 2013

MARCUS: Where to put your money

Snail Smith’s real name is Stanley, but his contorted windup and slow pitches gave him the nickname, Snail, during his short baseball career.

“What?” Snail asked the word slowly but clearly said.

“What what?” I responded.

“What should a person do about it?” Snail said.

“It being what?” I asked.

“Money,” he said. “What should a person do about money? Particularly if they are going up.”

 “What’s going up?” I was getting confused.

“Interest rates,” he asserted.

“Interest rates are holding fairly steady,” I said. “Thanks to the perhaps mistaken policy of the Federal Reserve, interest rates are virtually guaranteed not to rise until 2015.”

“But if they do, what do you do with it?” Snail asked again. “Where do you put it? Different economists have different ideas.”

“Right,” I said. “Some economists will tell you that the stock market will fall if interest rates rise. What they mean is that the price of any particular stock will decline unless the company can raise its dividend rate so that the yield on the stock maintains its risk differential vs. the market interest rate.”

“You understand what you just said?” Snail asked.

“Yes, imperfectly, but yes,” I confessed. “Bonds are similar. If interest rates rise, the fixed interest payment on a bond is less attractive and the price of the bond declines.”

“So bonds and stocks both lose value when interest rates rise,” Snail said.

“More or less,” I said cautiously. “Each firm and each bond offering is different, and you can only expect a general tendency of movement in prices. Plus, if you hold a bond to maturity, its face value does not change and your capital is protected. Then too, stocks can rebound quickly, as we have seen, with changes in expectations about economic conditions.”

“How about gold?” Snail asked.

“Sterile,” I sneered my best economist sneer. “Gold itself pays no dividends or interest. Its basic value rests on the costs of production and the demand for gold in industry and fashion. Then there is the speculative demand for gold, a factor based on fluctuations in fear about inflation and the value of money itself.”

“Will higher interest rates mean higher commodity prices for copper and corn and such?” Snail wanted to know. “Should I put my money there to protect against inflation?”

“What’s this concern with inflation?” I said.

“If interest rates rise, won’t prices in general rise giving us inflation, a decline in the value of money?” Snail said.

“Maybe,” I said. “Modest increases in interest rates do not necessarily bring about inflation or deflation. Much depends on the fundamental factors underlying demand and supply of goods and services in the economy.”

“You know,” Snail said, “In baseball some guys threw a pitch that was hard to hit. It twisted and turned, and we called those guys what I must call you, “Screwball.”

Morton J. Marcus is an economist, writer and speaker formerly with the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University. He can be reached at mortonjmarcus@yahoo.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.