Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

May 5, 2013

KNISELY: Feeling a little boxed in

Remember the U2 song from the ’80s “Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”?

I’ve not only had that song stuck in my brain for a week, I’m also living it. Neither is fun. Both, actually, are excruciating.

I moved last Sunday and woke up in my new digs on Monday morning sicker than a dog. And sick is how I’ve stayed all week. The kind of sick that makes you tired just walking to the fridge and back. If that made me tired, how was I going to unpack all those boxes stacked up everywhere? The answer, as it turns out, is I won’t. I learned that answer the same way I learn everything — the hard way.

After taking a long nap, I woke up with a tiny spark of energy. Having not experienced that since catching this ridiculous cold, I decided to capitalize on it and do some unpacking. Bad idea. Though I got a few boxes emptied, it wasn’t worth the price I paid. It caused a coughing fit that just wouldn’t stop until my head was pounding and I was heading back to bed.

So, where does that leave me? With a houseful of boxes and constantly uttering the words, “Now, darn it, I know I saw that somewhere.”

Boxes have been opened and moved around so much that it’s impossible to keep track of where I last saw something. Knowing I’ve seen it recently and now needing it, I will go looking for it. I think it was in this stack, I’ll tell myself. So I’ll go fishing through the stack, looking in the already-opened boxes. Haven seen it recently, it has to be in one of the open boxes, I surmise. When I don’t find it in that stack, I’ll think maybe it’s the stack on the other side of the room and move my search there. Again fishing out the open boxes. Not finding it, I mumble, “Now, darn it, I know I saw that somewhere.” So I move on to the stack of boxes in the kitchen. After not finding it there, I move through all the stacks of boxes and come up empty-handed. I then decide maybe I’ve had too much cold medication and that I’m possibly delusional, and I go back through the stacks. This time, though, I’m opening new boxes. This scenario plays out more often than not with me not finding the item I’m looking for. Along the way, though, I’ll see items that I think, “Oh! That’s where that is! I’ll have to remember it’s in this stack.” And when it comes time to need that item, this whole vicious circle begins again.

The house is so chaotic that I can sit something down and go to retrieve it 5 minutes later to find it missing. Where could it have possibly gone? I don’t actually know. But I have a hunch the boxes are selling their contents on ebay while stealing the stuff I’ve already unpacked.

But that might be the cold medicine talking.

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or misty.knisely@pharostribune.com

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.