Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

May 5, 2013

KNISELY: Feeling a little boxed in

Remember the U2 song from the ’80s “Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”?

I’ve not only had that song stuck in my brain for a week, I’m also living it. Neither is fun. Both, actually, are excruciating.

I moved last Sunday and woke up in my new digs on Monday morning sicker than a dog. And sick is how I’ve stayed all week. The kind of sick that makes you tired just walking to the fridge and back. If that made me tired, how was I going to unpack all those boxes stacked up everywhere? The answer, as it turns out, is I won’t. I learned that answer the same way I learn everything — the hard way.

After taking a long nap, I woke up with a tiny spark of energy. Having not experienced that since catching this ridiculous cold, I decided to capitalize on it and do some unpacking. Bad idea. Though I got a few boxes emptied, it wasn’t worth the price I paid. It caused a coughing fit that just wouldn’t stop until my head was pounding and I was heading back to bed.

So, where does that leave me? With a houseful of boxes and constantly uttering the words, “Now, darn it, I know I saw that somewhere.”

Boxes have been opened and moved around so much that it’s impossible to keep track of where I last saw something. Knowing I’ve seen it recently and now needing it, I will go looking for it. I think it was in this stack, I’ll tell myself. So I’ll go fishing through the stack, looking in the already-opened boxes. Haven seen it recently, it has to be in one of the open boxes, I surmise. When I don’t find it in that stack, I’ll think maybe it’s the stack on the other side of the room and move my search there. Again fishing out the open boxes. Not finding it, I mumble, “Now, darn it, I know I saw that somewhere.” So I move on to the stack of boxes in the kitchen. After not finding it there, I move through all the stacks of boxes and come up empty-handed. I then decide maybe I’ve had too much cold medication and that I’m possibly delusional, and I go back through the stacks. This time, though, I’m opening new boxes. This scenario plays out more often than not with me not finding the item I’m looking for. Along the way, though, I’ll see items that I think, “Oh! That’s where that is! I’ll have to remember it’s in this stack.” And when it comes time to need that item, this whole vicious circle begins again.

The house is so chaotic that I can sit something down and go to retrieve it 5 minutes later to find it missing. Where could it have possibly gone? I don’t actually know. But I have a hunch the boxes are selling their contents on ebay while stealing the stuff I’ve already unpacked.

But that might be the cold medicine talking.

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or misty.knisely@pharostribune.com

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.