Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

May 5, 2013

KNISELY: Feeling a little boxed in

Remember the U2 song from the ’80s “Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”?

I’ve not only had that song stuck in my brain for a week, I’m also living it. Neither is fun. Both, actually, are excruciating.

I moved last Sunday and woke up in my new digs on Monday morning sicker than a dog. And sick is how I’ve stayed all week. The kind of sick that makes you tired just walking to the fridge and back. If that made me tired, how was I going to unpack all those boxes stacked up everywhere? The answer, as it turns out, is I won’t. I learned that answer the same way I learn everything — the hard way.

After taking a long nap, I woke up with a tiny spark of energy. Having not experienced that since catching this ridiculous cold, I decided to capitalize on it and do some unpacking. Bad idea. Though I got a few boxes emptied, it wasn’t worth the price I paid. It caused a coughing fit that just wouldn’t stop until my head was pounding and I was heading back to bed.

So, where does that leave me? With a houseful of boxes and constantly uttering the words, “Now, darn it, I know I saw that somewhere.”

Boxes have been opened and moved around so much that it’s impossible to keep track of where I last saw something. Knowing I’ve seen it recently and now needing it, I will go looking for it. I think it was in this stack, I’ll tell myself. So I’ll go fishing through the stack, looking in the already-opened boxes. Haven seen it recently, it has to be in one of the open boxes, I surmise. When I don’t find it in that stack, I’ll think maybe it’s the stack on the other side of the room and move my search there. Again fishing out the open boxes. Not finding it, I mumble, “Now, darn it, I know I saw that somewhere.” So I move on to the stack of boxes in the kitchen. After not finding it there, I move through all the stacks of boxes and come up empty-handed. I then decide maybe I’ve had too much cold medication and that I’m possibly delusional, and I go back through the stacks. This time, though, I’m opening new boxes. This scenario plays out more often than not with me not finding the item I’m looking for. Along the way, though, I’ll see items that I think, “Oh! That’s where that is! I’ll have to remember it’s in this stack.” And when it comes time to need that item, this whole vicious circle begins again.

The house is so chaotic that I can sit something down and go to retrieve it 5 minutes later to find it missing. Where could it have possibly gone? I don’t actually know. But I have a hunch the boxes are selling their contents on ebay while stealing the stuff I’ve already unpacked.

But that might be the cold medicine talking.

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at 574-732-5155 or misty.knisely@pharostribune.com

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Palestinians and Israeli Soldiers Clash Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.