Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

April 30, 2013

THEIR VIEW: Raising state’s bar for education

The Indiana General Assembly handed Gov. Mike Pence last week a personal victory of sorts: A state budget that cuts personal income taxes 5 percent over the next four years.

Pence proposed and, for much of the legislative session, demanded a 10 percent income-tax cut for Hoosiers. The plan was central to his run for governor, but perhaps not as important as his education proposals during the 2012 campaign.

The governor signed two bills April 15 that state leaders hope will improve career and technical training in high schools across Indiana. Stronger job-training programs were just one part of Pence’s plan to improve graduation rates. Another was to implement higher standards in Indiana classrooms, with a focus on college readiness.

Pence should spend this summer advocating the latter. The Education and Workforce Development Commission put forward just such a plan in cooperation with the Indiana University Public Policy Institute last year.

Under the proposal, students who had shown they were ready would basically spend their senior years taking classes they would previously have taken as freshmen in college. Others would spend that final year training for a vocation, and still others would spend it getting ready for college or career training.

Too often, students go to college only to find themselves having to take remedial classes to catch up. The commission’s plan would have kids taking those classes during their senior year in high school.

The overall goal would be to nearly double the number of Hoosiers with college degrees by 2025.

The Indiana College Readiness Report, released Thursday by the Indiana Commission for Higher Education, suggests Pence’s call for stiffer high school standards could increase college graduations.

By 2018, 55 percent of Indiana jobs will require some postsecondary education, according to a recent from the Georgetown University Center on Education and the Workforce.

With Pence’s leadership, the state must act to meet that demand. The next generation is counting on it.

— Kokomo Tribune

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.