Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

March 8, 2013

Thorns and Roses - March 8, 2013

Thanks for your commitment

The Pharos-Tribune gives this Rose to Ola Titus:

Having worked there more than 20 years, Ola Titus is an institution at Cass Area Transit.

She was on the job from the very beginning of the organization. And now that she’s retiring, it’s a much different company. She was there as the company grew from two buses to 24, and from two drivers to 34.

“I’ve made this my lifetime,” she said.

In today’s economy where job hopping is the norm, Titus showed commitment to an organization and its success.

Great job, Ola, and enjoy your retirement.

The more graduates the merrier we’ll be

The Pharos-Tribune give this Rose to Logansport High School:

With a numbers released recently by the state, Logansport High School can now boast a 91.1 percent graduation rate. That’s up more than 7 percentage points above last year.

Michele Starkey, superintendent of Logansport Community School Corp., credited a team effort. The corporation is working with students to help more of them reach graduation. It’s established an alternative program and provided multiple remedial opportunities. Not every one learns the same way, and the corporation’s changes show its commitment to getting diplomas in all students’ hands.

Today’s job market is hard enough. Our young adults have a much smaller chance at success without a diploma. LHS is doing what it can to make sure that doesn’t happen.

Happy Birthday, United Way

The Pharos-Tribune gives this birthday Rose to the United Way of Cass County:

Seventy-five years of helping residents of Cass County — it’s almost hard to imagine how much work has gone into and come out of the United Way of Cass County in that amount of time.

As an organization itself and through fund distribution, United Way has helped countless families and individuals. Whether it’s food provision or educational support, United Way has been there for our children.

Kudos also goes out to the community for its outpouring of support over those 75 years. We’re better because of United Way and you.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.