Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

March 1, 2013

Thorns and Roses - March 1, 2013

Way to go, students

The Pharos-Tribune sends this Rose to local students in the running for a National Merit scholarship:

Sure the scholarship money that comes with winning would be great, but knowing you’re among an elite group of students inching closer toward a National Merit scholarship has to be rewarding, too.

And here in Cass County, we have three students who are finalists for the award: Kaley R. Bean, Pioneer; Jason “Jake” Hawes, Logansport; and Zachary B. “Zach” Smith, Caston.

You’re making your community proud, and we’re rooting for you.

Thanks for the great care while in hospital

Robert Knapp, of Logansport, sends this Rose to Logansport Memorial Hospital staff:

I recently spent a week at the Logansport Memorial Hospital. I want to say thank you to Dr. Mark Crowley and the rest of the hospital staff for treating me so well.

No way to senior downtown housing

Kathy Bass, of Logansport, gives a Thorn to the possbility of locating senior housing in downtown:

I’m not sure if anyone has surveyed seniors for their opinions on where they’d want to live if other than their current home. No one has asked me and I am definitely a senior. My answer would be to  not live in downtown Logansport, where I’d be removed from services. Frankly, it is desirable to bring youth, vitality and excitement to a downtown to stimulate energy in the area. I do not believe senior housing does any of that.

Downtown was moving in the right direction by focusing on open areas for public gatherings of all ages and positive, fun activities.  Let’s keep it that way.

Having many vacant buildings on display that generate nothing for the community is a blight that should be dealt with before we start filling up our open areas with more buildings.

Your turn

Thorns & Roses is our staff’s compilation of the best and worst of the week, but if you have your own nominations, feel free to send them along for publication. Submissions of up to 400 words may be addressed to Pharos-Tribune, 517 E. Broadway, Logansport, IN 46947. Or you can email us at publicforum@pharostribune.com. Don’t forget to include your name, address and daytime telephone number.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.