Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

May 19, 2013

OUR VIEW: Are you prepared for a disaster?

— Even before we close the book today on our five-week series of disaster preparedness, headlines came pouring in about tornadoes ripping through Texas. As the death toll continues to rise, it’s the nation’s most violent and deadly outburst of tornadoes this year. And the season’s just getting started.

Bulldozers used to clear the way for rescue teams looking for people trapped in the debris were all part of plans put in place long ago. It’s the same plans our local, state and federal officials are putting in place in case of a similar natural disaster here.

Our series focused on these efforts and why they’re so important to the general public and individual families.

We told you about Cass County’s electronic mass notification system and officials’ belief it will help get the message of possible dangers out faster.

We told you about the city/county planning department’s proposed floodplain map changes and how they might affect you.

We told you about the work officials in Cass and Pulaski counties are doing to better prepare residents, through emergency education, practice drills and localized sirens.

But all we can do is tell you. We can’t come into your homes and make sure your family has a plan, and neither can local, state or federal emergency management agencies. To some extent, we’d probably all like to because we obviously care about your safety. Why else would we devote five Sundays to such coverage?

It’s now up to you.

You have to sign up for the county’s mass notification system.

You have to be smart about where you build.

You have to attend educational programs put on by the local health department to educate yourself and your family on what to do in case of an emergency.

You have to heed the warning sirens if and when they go off.

None of these we can do for you. We know it’s easy to think it will never happen to me and my family, so I can ignore all that. But that’s a dangerous assumption to make. And if our online poll from last week is any indication — 81 percent of respondents said they did not have a detailed plan in case of emergency — many are making that assumption.

We’re in no way advocating you become a doomsdayer and pack a reinforced bunker with a decade’s worth of supplies. We simply urge you to put together a disaster plan and make sure everyone in your family knows what the plan is. It doesn’t have to be an intricate, thorough course of action down to the nth degree. It can simply be deciding on a meeting spot and predetermining who is responsible for what.

As you read today’s final installment, which focuses on earthquakes and their very real threat right here in Indiana, we hope you take the message to heart and make the decision to prepare yourself.

If you don’t, no one else will.

For more on this story and other local news, subscribe to The Pharos-Tribune eEdition, or our print edition

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.