Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

May 17, 2013

WOLFSIE: Writing on the walls

Sometimes when I am trying to think of an idea for my column, I just stare at the wall. That’s not a bad thing, because on the wall in my home office is a collection of special pieces of memorabi-lia that inspire me to write, reminding me of the talented people I have had the privilege to meet.

SOUPY SALES PHOTO: I have friends who have snapshots of themselves standing next to world leaders like Ronald Reagan, Mother Teresa and Bill Clinton. I can do better. You can’t see my face in this photo in my office because Soupy Sales deposited a pie in my kisser after he exited an elevator at a downtown hotel and grabbed the creamy projectile out of a waiter’s hand. The premise was pre-planned, but the TV segment was shot live and perfectly timed. The result was sweet.

LETTER FROM STEVE ALLEN: I always revered Steve Allen. In 1988 we did a show together to commemorate the opening of MGM theme parks in Orlando. During the interview, I imitated one of his classic TV bits when he would get irate at stuff in the news and throw the paper down in mock anger. Two weeks later, I got a personal note from Mr. Allen saying that he had seen the video and thought it was “very funny.” I only look at that letter when I wake up every morning and before I go to bed.

ART BUCHWALD DISPLAY: When Art Buchwald was in a hospice in 2005, I wrote a story about how he influenced me. I sent him a copy of the piece along with a photo of us together in 1968 in his Washington, DC office when I was a humor columnist at George Washington University. Buchwald responded to my letter by sending the column back with his autograph and a note: “Glad you made it as a writer…I was sure you’d be arrested for holding up 7-Elevens.” All my Buchwald memorabilia is now in a huge frame, including some of his signed book jackets and the original pictures of us. How big is the display? My wife wants to take it down someday and install a bay window, instead.

GARFIELD DRAWING: After I interviewed cartoonist Jim Davis, he left for a meeting. But I had forgotten to ask him to draw Garfield as part of the taped segment. His assistant called Mr. Davis, who then graciously turned his car around and came back to his office to do the drawing for me. This always reminds me what a genuinely nice guy Mr. Davis is. No fat cat, there.

CHAMPION BEAGLE: Cartoonist Gary Varvel celebrated the winner of the 2010 Westminster Dog Show with a drawing of the winning pooch in sunglasses standing by a newspaper stand that heralded his victory, the first time a beagle had ever taken top prize. The caption: Joe Cool. Gary sent the original to me in memory of my old pal Barney, who never won a ribbon…just a few thousand hearts.

Finally, I have on my wall a signed comic strip from cartoonist Charles Schulz, a thank-you gift from his corporate office after an interview. I asked a friend who is an autograph expert to appraise it. He told me it was probably not Schulz’s signature, but was signed instead by his secretary. How much is it worth? Peanuts, he told me.

Dick Wolfsie is a television news reporter, syndicated humor columnist and author. He can be reached at Wolfsie@aol.com.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Palestinians and Israeli Soldiers Clash Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.