Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

May 17, 2013

THORNS & ROSES: Week of May 16

LOGANSPORT — Getting teenagers to think before they drive

The Pharos-Tribune give this Rose to Lewis Cass SADD:

Indiana Students Against Destructive Decisions organization spent an afternoon this week at  Lewis Cass Junior-Senior High School that would hopefully get students thinking in time for the school prom to roll around.

Statistically a dangerous night for teenagers on the roadways, the group offered a wide range of thought-provoking activities about the dangers of drunken driving. Sure the activities were fun and the kids had a good time, but it was an afternoon that hopefully put things in perspective for students. Young drivers need to understand that distracted driving — whether from texting, drinking or playing with the radio — is not a joke.

It’s a lesson kids can’t get enough, and we thank SADD for giving them another reminder.



Life-saver on board

The Pharos-Tribune gives this Rose to the Logansport Police Department:

We’re appreciative to see the promised AEDs arrive and be installed in six Logansport Police Department squad cars. Odds are, having the devices on hand will one day save someone’s life. If a police officer is first on scene — and they normally are — of someone having a cardiac arrest, they have to be prepared to take action. Having the portable machines will give them that capability.

Time is of the essence in these situations and now time will be a little more on the victim’s side.



Students rack up scholarships

The Pharos-Tribune gives this Rose to all the graduating Logansport High School seniors who received scholarships during this week’s award ceremony:

There were so many scholarship winners from Logansport High School that we had to devote an entire page of Thursday’s paper to list them all. It was great to see so many students’ hard work paying off. It’s also great to see so many of our local graduates’ excitement to move on and tackle the next leg of their education. We’re excited to see what great things these students do in the future.

We also can’t say enough about the community for offering so many scholarship opportunities to our students. You’re investing in tomorrow’s leaders, and we can’t thank you enough.

Your turn

Thorns & Roses is our staff’s compilation of the best and worst of the week, but if you have your own nominations, feel free to send them along for publication. Submissions of up to 400 words may be addressed to Pharos-Tribune, 517 E. Broadway, Logansport, IN 46947. Or you can email us at publicforum@pharostribune.com. Don’t forget to include your name, address and daytime telephone number.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.