Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

May 12, 2013

OUR VIEW: Mothers the greatest gift of all

Our mothers help guide us through the world around us, helping us sidestep disaster if at all possible. She holds our hand as we become the person we were meant to be. She knew us from the beginning, and if she had it her way, she’d know us to the very end.

Our protectors, our teachers, our saving grace, mothers pour their whole hearts into our lives. They cheer when we win and cry when we lose. Our joy fuels her smile. Our pain shatters her heart.

Being a mother has never been an easy job. And today, one could easily argue it’s harder than it’s ever been before. Often a financial necessity in these tough economic times, the majority of mothers work outside the home. But as we all know, that doesn’t mean they don’t still bear the brunt of the home’s burdens. Having a full-time job doesn’t mean children require less work and less time. No, it means mothers have to figure out how to do it all. Every single day. Raising children is a never-ending job. It’s not one where you get weekends off and retire after 18 years.

Now more than ever, being a mother far exceeds the four walls of the family home. And raising children in this chaotic world has created even more hardship for mothers. As unspeakable acts of violence and displays of inhumanity play out with more and more regularity, mothers have the added burden of navigating young minds through a world that just doesn’t make sense.

Being tasked with protecting a child from the world we live in can oftentimes seem a losing battle. But it’s one our mothers approach with dignity and honor.

And this Mother’s Day, we’d like you to think about yourself. Yes, you read that right. We want you to think about you on Mother’s Day. We want you to think about how you can make this crazy world we call home a better place.

They say it takes a village to raise a child. That’s as true today as ever. We want you to think about how you can play a positive role in the village that has so much influence over our children. Think about the influence you can have in that village and the effect it could have on a child’s life.

Think about what it means to be an active member of your community, whether it’s volunteering at a local school or simply picking up a piece of stray trash on the sidewalk. Children learn from the whole village, not just their mothers. We want you to be a good example for children to follow. Single-handedly or collectively, we can make a difference in the world, no matter how insignificant it can seem at the time.

What could be a greater gift for a mother on Mother’s Day than a brighter world for her children?

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The sheer dumbness of an enormous dome There is a TV series about an entire town trapped under a giant, mysterious crystal-clear dome that appears out of the blue one day. The dome is impenetrable; no one can get in, no one can get out. Who made the dome? Aliens? God? A super-secret branc

    July 22, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Road to funding Indiana highways jammed If you’ve driven on either of Indiana’s two busiest interstates recently, you’ll understand why a blue-ribbon commission last week called for adding traffic lanes to those harrowing highways.The report, issued by the Governor’s Blue Ribbon Panel on T

    July 21, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.