Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

May 12, 2013

OUR VIEW: Mothers the greatest gift of all

Our mothers help guide us through the world around us, helping us sidestep disaster if at all possible. She holds our hand as we become the person we were meant to be. She knew us from the beginning, and if she had it her way, she’d know us to the very end.

Our protectors, our teachers, our saving grace, mothers pour their whole hearts into our lives. They cheer when we win and cry when we lose. Our joy fuels her smile. Our pain shatters her heart.

Being a mother has never been an easy job. And today, one could easily argue it’s harder than it’s ever been before. Often a financial necessity in these tough economic times, the majority of mothers work outside the home. But as we all know, that doesn’t mean they don’t still bear the brunt of the home’s burdens. Having a full-time job doesn’t mean children require less work and less time. No, it means mothers have to figure out how to do it all. Every single day. Raising children is a never-ending job. It’s not one where you get weekends off and retire after 18 years.

Now more than ever, being a mother far exceeds the four walls of the family home. And raising children in this chaotic world has created even more hardship for mothers. As unspeakable acts of violence and displays of inhumanity play out with more and more regularity, mothers have the added burden of navigating young minds through a world that just doesn’t make sense.

Being tasked with protecting a child from the world we live in can oftentimes seem a losing battle. But it’s one our mothers approach with dignity and honor.

And this Mother’s Day, we’d like you to think about yourself. Yes, you read that right. We want you to think about you on Mother’s Day. We want you to think about how you can make this crazy world we call home a better place.

They say it takes a village to raise a child. That’s as true today as ever. We want you to think about how you can play a positive role in the village that has so much influence over our children. Think about the influence you can have in that village and the effect it could have on a child’s life.

Think about what it means to be an active member of your community, whether it’s volunteering at a local school or simply picking up a piece of stray trash on the sidewalk. Children learn from the whole village, not just their mothers. We want you to be a good example for children to follow. Single-handedly or collectively, we can make a difference in the world, no matter how insignificant it can seem at the time.

What could be a greater gift for a mother on Mother’s Day than a brighter world for her children?

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WILLIAMS: America still the dream Is America really in as bad as shape like many people say it is? I’m 67 and when I look around, I don’t see it.Everything isn’t great but believe it or not, there has never been a time when everything was great, not even in those innocent Fifties we

    July 31, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Every town that has any sort of waterway -- whether it be a river or a creek or just a stream -- knows it will be used as a trash can. And oftentimes, tires are a favorite trash to be tossed into the waterways. Many organizations and concerned citize

    July 31, 2014

  • WERNER: The mystery of the Indian grave at Dykeman Last summer I contacted Thelma Conrad, executive director of the Cass County Historical Society, to ask her if she had any information on the Indian grave at Dykeman Park. Thelma had heard of it but had never seen the small marker that tells of the I

    July 31, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should the U.S. impose a travel ban on three West African nations in response to a growing Ebola virus outbreak?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.