Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

January 20, 2013

KNISELY: Finding my lost school spirit

— I got quite the introduction to Logansport over the weekend. I went to Saturday’s match-up between the Logansport and Lewis Cass high schools’ boys basketball teams.

This will likely shock many of you and make the rest hang your heads in shame, but it was my first high school basketball game. I’ll pause while you shudder.

...

The group of friends I went with were just as shocked.

“How do you grow up in a small town and not attend a high school basketball game?” was a question I’ve heard more than twice.

There is a litany of reasons why, none of which I’ll bore you with.

What I will tell you is that after watching the students pile into the bleachers directly behind their cheerleaders, I felt as if maybe I missed out on something you can only truly experience as a teenager: school spirit.

Some painted their chests to support their team. Some even brought custom-made, larger-than-life, cardboard cutouts bearing their favorite stars’ faces. They chatted, they screamed, they did some swaying dance as a group under the leadership of the cheerleaders. (It likely has a name, but I’m too old to know what it is.)

In all, they were having a blast and were just plain fun to watch.

But all that paled in comparison to my favorite moment of the evening. Around about the first quarter, making his entrance near the Berries cheering squad, I saw Felix.

In the history of high school mascots, Felix might possibly take the cake as the coolest ever. As soon as I saw him, I wanted my picture taken with him. We were seated in the upstairs bleachers, so I took off for the gym floor in search of Felix. By the time I made it through the crowd, Felix had gone missing. I searched around and came up empty, so I rejoined my group back upstairs. When I got upstairs, I saw Felix again on the gym floor. I swear he was avoiding me.

And while I didn’t get to sit where the cool kids sit and didn’t have my Kodak moment with Felix, I still thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Channeling my inner teenager, I talked with my gal pals about our latest boy troubles and sang along to the music during timeouts. I cheered at 3-pointers and huffed at questionable calls by the refs.

And much to the chagrin of my friend’s 10-year-old who sat next to me, I even danced along to the band. With his hand covering his face, he begged me to stop. Unfortunately for him, the music must’ve been too loud because I conveniently couldn’t hear him. I was too busy having fun.

I think having my very own giant head, though, would have truly cemented the occasion for me. Maybe I’ll look into that before the next game.

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Logansport Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com or by calling 574-732-5155.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WILLIAMS: America still the dream Is America really in as bad as shape like many people say it is? I’m 67 and when I look around, I don’t see it.Everything isn’t great but believe it or not, there has never been a time when everything was great, not even in those innocent Fifties we

    July 31, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Every town that has any sort of waterway -- whether it be a river or a creek or just a stream -- knows it will be used as a trash can. And oftentimes, tires are a favorite trash to be tossed into the waterways. Many organizations and concerned citize

    July 31, 2014

  • WERNER: The mystery of the Indian grave at Dykeman Last summer I contacted Thelma Conrad, executive director of the Cass County Historical Society, to ask her if she had any information on the Indian grave at Dykeman Park. Thelma had heard of it but had never seen the small marker that tells of the I

    July 31, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.