Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

December 30, 2012

OUR VIEW: Message is clear - Don’t drink and drive

The issue: New Year’s Eve brings many reasons for celebration and often leads to a cocktail or two.

Our view: One drink is one drink too many to get behind the wheel and drive. Select a designated driver or call a cab if you plan to leave home to celebrate Monday.

The new year can mean many things for people. Possibly 2012 was a phenomenal year, filled with a new birth in the family, a promotion at work, a marriage or maybe someone you know, including yourself, conquering an illness. On the flip side, 2012 could have meant the loss of a loved one, a foreclosure, the loss of a job or even a divorce.

Either way you look at it, 2012 is coming to a close. With the year’s ending upon us, many people resort to having a cocktail or two celebrating the year that was or offering it good riddance. A bottle of wine may be consumed as ladies discuss a summer trip they took or how the children fared in school or sports this year. Guys may do the same as cans and bottles of beer line the trash can around talks of making sure 2013 is one of prosperity. Some will party safely in the confines of their own home or a place they plan to stay for a full night’s (or day’s) rest after the last new year’s horn blows. Others may take to the bar scene or to a house party just a few blocks from home. Reminiscing about the past and dreaming about the future while drinking libations can cause a whirlwind for a perfect storm.

Be prepared for this storm.

Indiana law allows those of us 21 years or older to consume alcohol. The law also holds us accountable for abusing that privilege by putting our lives or the lives of others at risk. Body mass, time, rest and the amount of alcohol consumed all play a factor in the equation for drunkenness. Are you in the right state of mind after some alcohol to figure out whether you should drive? Does a cab fare even get close to the total cost of a charge of operating while intoxicated, which includes bail, towing, insurance and legal fees? We think not.

Today is the day to make alternate plans for tomorrow’s celebration. Of all days to enforce zero tolerance on yourself or loved ones, this is the one. Avoid the extreme possibility of having to provide tearful testimony before a judge and a victim’s family because you didn’t take the time to prepare for a known alcohol-related holiday.

Rid yourself now of any excuses. After all, the excuse of “I can drive. I only live one block from home” can still lead you to another block – a cell block.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The sheer dumbness of an enormous dome There is a TV series about an entire town trapped under a giant, mysterious crystal-clear dome that appears out of the blue one day. The dome is impenetrable; no one can get in, no one can get out. Who made the dome? Aliens? God? A super-secret branc

    July 22, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Road to funding Indiana highways jammed If you’ve driven on either of Indiana’s two busiest interstates recently, you’ll understand why a blue-ribbon commission last week called for adding traffic lanes to those harrowing highways.The report, issued by the Governor’s Blue Ribbon Panel on T

    July 21, 2014

  • LYONS: When academic committees play 'police' If one believes even a significant fraction of the horror stories in the national news media, beastly male behavior has become almost epidemic on American college campuses. Tales of drunken sexual assaults and worse multiply from sea to shining sea.E

    July 21, 2014

  • CEPEDA: Hispanic women flock to the movies My family attended the first morning screening of “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes,” which won last weekend’s box office with a $73 million debut.According to Lucas Shaw’s recent article “Hispanic Women Are This Summer’s Most Avid Moviegoers” on the e

    July 20, 2014

  • thelma CONRAD: A true Lincoln original The Cass County Historical Society has had in its possession for many decades several documents containing the signature of President Abraham Lincoln. The society never doubted the authenticity of the signature, given the fact that most of the first

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • OUR VIEW: Heroin plague spreads into our city We published a report in Friday’s edition of the Pharos-Tribune that delved into the city’s growing problem with heroin.In that report, Logansport Police Detective 1st Sgt. Dan Frye said he doesn’t know how much more LPD officers will be wrestling wi

    July 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: A day in the sun Every year I have my two nieces over for Misty and Me Birthday Slumber Party. The activities are always different, but the end result is always the same. It always ends with me being exhausted. Being single with no kids, my life is quiet. My life is

    July 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Addressing the morality of an issueAs superintendent for the Logansport Community School Corp., I feel it appropriate to respond to the July 17 article in the Pharos-Tribune regarding the dismissal of child seduction charges against former Logansport

    July 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.