Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

December 30, 2012

OUR VIEW: Message is clear - Don’t drink and drive

The issue: New Year’s Eve brings many reasons for celebration and often leads to a cocktail or two.

Our view: One drink is one drink too many to get behind the wheel and drive. Select a designated driver or call a cab if you plan to leave home to celebrate Monday.

The new year can mean many things for people. Possibly 2012 was a phenomenal year, filled with a new birth in the family, a promotion at work, a marriage or maybe someone you know, including yourself, conquering an illness. On the flip side, 2012 could have meant the loss of a loved one, a foreclosure, the loss of a job or even a divorce.

Either way you look at it, 2012 is coming to a close. With the year’s ending upon us, many people resort to having a cocktail or two celebrating the year that was or offering it good riddance. A bottle of wine may be consumed as ladies discuss a summer trip they took or how the children fared in school or sports this year. Guys may do the same as cans and bottles of beer line the trash can around talks of making sure 2013 is one of prosperity. Some will party safely in the confines of their own home or a place they plan to stay for a full night’s (or day’s) rest after the last new year’s horn blows. Others may take to the bar scene or to a house party just a few blocks from home. Reminiscing about the past and dreaming about the future while drinking libations can cause a whirlwind for a perfect storm.

Be prepared for this storm.

Indiana law allows those of us 21 years or older to consume alcohol. The law also holds us accountable for abusing that privilege by putting our lives or the lives of others at risk. Body mass, time, rest and the amount of alcohol consumed all play a factor in the equation for drunkenness. Are you in the right state of mind after some alcohol to figure out whether you should drive? Does a cab fare even get close to the total cost of a charge of operating while intoxicated, which includes bail, towing, insurance and legal fees? We think not.

Today is the day to make alternate plans for tomorrow’s celebration. Of all days to enforce zero tolerance on yourself or loved ones, this is the one. Avoid the extreme possibility of having to provide tearful testimony before a judge and a victim’s family because you didn’t take the time to prepare for a known alcohol-related holiday.

Rid yourself now of any excuses. After all, the excuse of “I can drive. I only live one block from home” can still lead you to another block – a cell block.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

  • PETERS: Grizzly bear may help human medicine I've gained 5 pounds since last summer. My body mass index (BMI) is still fine, but I need to stop gaining to keep it that way. Grizzly bears put my weight gain to shame. In the late summer, they eat some 50,000 calories per day and gain more than 1

    April 18, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Feelings of the flowers I took one of those fun tests on Facebook to see what kind of flower I am and lo and behold, it said I was an orchid! That is so wrong because I have always thought I was the exact opposite of an orchid. I'd characterize myself as a daisy. You know,

    April 17, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet! Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it's down to $134 billion. People who believe in public belt-tightening applaud drops like that. I understand why: there are many reas

    April 17, 2014

  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.