Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

April 17, 2013

OUR VIEW: American spirit rises above all

While there’s much we don’t know about what happened Monday at the Boston Marathon, one thing is for sure. It was an effort to strike fear in the hearts of Americans. With no regard for human life, the attack was carried out with the intent of maiming or killing anyone within the blasts’ range.

It was a scene we remember all too well. Watching the panic and chaos play out on TV, we were thrust back to 9/11. It was a place we hoped we’d never visit again.

But as the bombs went off and we watched in horror, there was no hiding from this painful reminder of that horrible day nearly 13 years ago.

And while the details were different, the story of terrorism remains the same: do the most damage and plant as many seeds of fear as possible. Those behind the Boston attacks set their sights on both.

We watched as the number of injured people climbed with each passing hour. The carnage was unimaginable. So much so that we struggled to find an image to print in Tuesday’s edition. Scrolling through the Associated Press’ photos, it was as if we were looking at images from a war zone in another country.

But what we also saw were strangers running into the smoke and chaos to help the rescue effort. We saw a runner’s pristine race day outfit and number badge soiled with blood as he stooped down to lift a female runner and carry her to safety. We saw hundreds of  others help with no thought to their own safety. It’s that determination no terrorist can take away. The American spirit cannot be stifled. Especially not by the cowards who carried out this faceless attack.

But unfortunately for those responsible, another thing is for sure. Americans aren’t known for backing down from a fight.

And more unfortunate for them, Lady Liberty’s wrath will not be spread across the gathered masses. She’ll see only you.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.