Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

August 3, 2013

KNISELY: She'll never live this down

After writing about scaring myself stupid last week, people came out of the woodwork. I heard from readers, coworkers, friends, family, ghosts. OK, not the ghosts.

Seems like everyone has a story to tell of a time when they were scared, rarely over anything worth actually be scared about. I have heard some great stories over the last week, but one of my favorites came from my sister. I laughed (at her) so hard that tears rolled down my cheeks.

Here's her story:

She lives out in the middle of nowhere with her husband, two kids and dog. Living in a big house far from civilization normally doesn't faze her because her husband is there. But he's out of town for work, meaning she's home alone with the kids and dog.

The other night she was sitting at the kitchen island, cutting coupons out of the paper. It was a little after midnight. She heard a noise.

"You know the sound a door handle makes when you turn it all the way and let it go? The sound of it spinning back around? It was that sound!"

She froze. Completely, as she tells it. With the scissors still open in her hand, the paper hanging between the blades, she was frozen.

She finally snapped out of it and thought she'd better go check it out.

(For the record, I would have paid good money to see all this play out.)

She creeps down the hallway toward the garage door. After checking to make sure the door was indeed locked, she crept back to the kitchen.

When asked why she was creeping, she practically yelled, "I don't know!"

She went back to her stool and sat in silence again. After several minutes, she decided she was hearing things and got back to her coupons. That's when she heard it again.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.