Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

July 11, 2013

THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs to restart its tourism engines

Petoskey, Mich., never looked better than on the billboards motorists see on Main Street in South Bend and driving north of the city on Indiana 933.

The giant picture postcards are part of the Pure Michigan campaign you’re bound to have noticed in print, on local radio and television stations, as well.

Tim Allen, in soothing voice-overs of stunning photography tells us, “The state of Michigan is a state blessed with the riches of unspoiled nature: the world’s longest freshwater coastline, lakes that feel like oceans, shimmering beaches, miles and miles of cherry orchards, glorious sunrises and sunsets, daytime skies of the deepest blue, nighttime skies scattered with stars.”

Michigan has a lot to sell and last year 104 million tourists bought in, spending $18.1 billion in the state.

Only a fraction of visitors may have been lured by Pure Michigan, but the state’s travel director, George Zimmermann, says a study of last spring and summer’s efforts found that Michigan generated nearly $6 for the state coffers, mostly from increased sales tax, for every $1 it spent on promotions. During that period, $79 million triggered specifically by the Pure Michigan campaign flowed into the state’s budget.

That success, perhaps, is why Illinois’ latest Enjoy Illinois commercial blitz looks and sounds like Pure Michigan wannabe.

So, what’s going on in Indiana? Surely, keeping up with the neighbors is important to Hoosiers’ economic advantage.

Mark Newman, executive director of Indiana Office of Tourism Development, says last year the state attracted about 63 million visitors. He adds, state tourism is currently going through a rebranding that will launch in the next fiscal year.

The now eight-year-old Indy-centric Restart Your Engines campaign for sure needs a jump. If you don’t believe it, just check out the website http://www.in.gov/visitindiana/. “Restart your old time engine” with a trip to Columbus’ 1900 soda fountain, it suggests. Old timey is right.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

  • PETERS: Grizzly bear may help human medicine I've gained 5 pounds since last summer. My body mass index (BMI) is still fine, but I need to stop gaining to keep it that way. Grizzly bears put my weight gain to shame. In the late summer, they eat some 50,000 calories per day and gain more than 1

    April 18, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Feelings of the flowers I took one of those fun tests on Facebook to see what kind of flower I am and lo and behold, it said I was an orchid! That is so wrong because I have always thought I was the exact opposite of an orchid. I'd characterize myself as a daisy. You know,

    April 17, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet! Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it's down to $134 billion. People who believe in public belt-tightening applaud drops like that. I understand why: there are many reas

    April 17, 2014

  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.