Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

July 11, 2013

WILLIAMS: Do we still believe democracy?

Well, the Fourth of July is over. Fireworks have all been set off. All the patriotic posts have been posted on Facebook – heart-stirring pictures of flags waving and the Founding Fathers signing the Declaration of Independence and touching photos expressing heartfelt gratitude to our soldiers.

But once Fourth of July has come and gone, that uneasy feeling that something ugly is stirring beneath the surface returns. Do we truly still believe in representative democracy or have a significant group of Americans given up on our system? It appears to me from what I hear and read that the latter is true. I don’t believe they are a majority, but they certainly are large enough to undermine our government — and they have.

Call me biased but I lay this on the Republicans and I trace it back to Bill Clinton’s impeachment. Prior to that, the consensus of Americans seemed to be that we had elections and while you may not have agreed with the outcome, the voters got to call the shots. You griped and complained about the administration in power. The bottom line though, was that if you were unhappy, you worked as hard as you could to win the next election.

When Bill Clinton became president, the Republicans were so caught up in Clinton hatred that, for the first time, they made a conscious decision to try to undo an election – not for trumped-up high crimes and misdemeanors, but simply because they were so convinced the voters got it wrong that they felt justified to overrule them.

They had their way with the country for the eight years of the Bush administration. Naturally, lots of Democrats detested just about every minute of that time but we bore up under it, still being convinced that in America, the voters were the ultimate “deciders,” however unfathomable we thought their choice was.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.