Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 27, 2012

Our View: Time to ease marijuana penalty?

Possession of about 20 marijuana cigarettes would be the equivalent of a traffic ticket if a measure proposed by a conservative state senator becomes law.

Sen. Brent Steele, a Republican from Bedford, will sponsor legislation in the next session to rewrite the state’s criminal code.

Among the provisions, he says, will be one that makes possession of 10 grams or less of marijuana an infraction rather than a crime. If the provision passes, Indiana will join 14 states that have already rolled back their criminal penalties for marijuana possession. For many of those states, the issue is not so much about policy as economics.

When the Connecticut legislature voted this year to decriminalize marijuana possession, supporters said the move would save about $11 million in law enforcement costs. Lawmakers there and elsewhere are asking themselves whether they want to keep spending tax dollars on jailing marijuana users or on maintaining streets and sewers.

Steele doesn’t favor making marijuana possession legal. He simply thinks the state’s marijuana possession laws are too harsh. Indiana law dictates that marijuana possession is a felony unless it’s a first-time offense and the amount is less than an ounce.

The question, Steele says, is whether locking someone up for possession of a few marijuana cigarettes is a good use of tax dollars.

Steele thinks it’s not. He compares it to “smashing an ant with a sledgehammer.”

Steele isn’t talking about promoting marijuana use. He doesn’t want to do away with laws that carry tough penalties for people who drive under the influence of marijuana.

“We’re talking about simple possession, some kid caught with a couple of joints in his pocket,” he said. “Mere possession has nothing to do with use or abuse.”

Andrew Cullen, legislative liaison for the Indiana Public Defender Council, put it another way.

“No one wants to encourage the use of drugs,” he said, “but to make a low-level, recreational drug user into a felon is ridiculous.”

Frankly, such a change in the law might be inevitable. Public opinion on the issue has shifted dramatically in recent decades.

When Gallup first asked about legalizing marijuana in 1969, more than 80 percent of Americans were against it. By last year, that opposition had dropped to 46 percent.

This might be a change in the law whose time has come.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

  • PETERS: Grizzly bear may help human medicine I've gained 5 pounds since last summer. My body mass index (BMI) is still fine, but I need to stop gaining to keep it that way. Grizzly bears put my weight gain to shame. In the late summer, they eat some 50,000 calories per day and gain more than 1

    April 18, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Feelings of the flowers I took one of those fun tests on Facebook to see what kind of flower I am and lo and behold, it said I was an orchid! That is so wrong because I have always thought I was the exact opposite of an orchid. I'd characterize myself as a daisy. You know,

    April 17, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet! Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it's down to $134 billion. People who believe in public belt-tightening applaud drops like that. I understand why: there are many reas

    April 17, 2014

  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.