Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 5, 2013

OUR VIEW: Dual credit the way to go

The increasing cost of a college education and the ever-growing debt it dumps on students have dominated headlines for some time now. At the same time, headlines touting the increased need for a college education are fighting for attention.

And our students have long been left in the wake. Do they suck it up and take on the debt to get a better job later or do they take their chances at the workforce now and live debt-free?

But fortunately for Logansport High School and Century Career Center students, the equation is continually being tilted in their favor thanks to the dual-credit program.

And when we checked in this week to see how the program is going, we learned the students are overwhelmingly taking advantage of the courses.

During the 2012 school year, the number of dual credits offered jumped from 36 to 107. That same school year, 370 students earned a total of 1,464 dual credits.

Of the dual credits offered, 90 percent have no charge. That equates to well over $200,000 not spent on tuition later.

But it’s not just about the money.

Another education issue getting its fair share of headlines is college readiness, or rather the lack of it. The Indiana Commission for Higher Education’s research shows that 32 percent of the state’s high school graduating class of 2011 required a remedial course in college the following year.

Those numbers prompted many schools across the state to take a hard look at their college prep. For our students locally, the dual-credit program takes the idea of college readiness to a higher level. It’s not only ensuring they are ready to do college-level work, it has them actually doing college-level work.

So for the students engaged in these classes at the high school level, the transition to college won’t be the culture shock many will face. Many students get to college only to find it’s not all fun and games like Hollywood too often portrays.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.