Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 23, 2012

Our View: Capping credit time for offenders

The issue: Don Strasser was shocked when his daughter’s killer had his sentence reduced by 75 percent. He’s working to be sure no other parent has the same experience.

Our view: Those who want to help can contact their legislators or sign an online petition.

Don and Sharon Strasser had all of their daughter’s Christmas gifts wrapped when they received a phone call on Dec. 24, 2006, telling them that she had  been strangled at the home she shared with her boyfriend and three-month-old son.

The Strassers were shocked again the following September when 26-year-old daughter Marva Diana Rhea’s killer made a deal that would shrink his  sentence by two thirds. They spoke against the plea bargain, but they took comfort in the thought that the man would spend at least a decade behind bars.

And then came news that even that sentence would be cut in half.

Justin Suits entered prison with 253 days of credit for time he had already spent behind bars. Then he was granted a year off for earning an associate’s  degree in 2010. He shaved another 180 days from the sentence in 2011 for undergoing substance abuse counseling and then 183 days for completing  another program. Finally, the Department of Correction cut almost two years from his sentence for the bachelor’s degree he earned in business management.

The Strassers had previous personal experience with shortened sentences. Don’s sister, her husband, child and unborn child were killed by a drunken driver  in 1972. Because of a plea agreement, the driver received a fine instead of a jail sentence.

Now, Don is taking action. He’s gathering signatures both online and on paper asking Indiana lawmakers to limit the amount of good time credit violent offenders can receive.

The good news for the Strassers is that a group of prosecutors, public defenders and other attorneys has already spent more than a year looking at this and other issues, and the result is a 375-page report calling for tougher penalties for violent offenders. The report also recommends that the state do away with credit time for offenders earning a bachelor’s degree, and it caps the credit time for offenders earning an associate’s degree.

Those recommendations are under review by the Criminal Code Evaluation Commission, which includes Sen. Randy Head of Logansport among its  members.

If you support changes in the law, give Head a call. You can also go online to sign the petition.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

  • PETERS: Grizzly bear may help human medicine I've gained 5 pounds since last summer. My body mass index (BMI) is still fine, but I need to stop gaining to keep it that way. Grizzly bears put my weight gain to shame. In the late summer, they eat some 50,000 calories per day and gain more than 1

    April 18, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Feelings of the flowers I took one of those fun tests on Facebook to see what kind of flower I am and lo and behold, it said I was an orchid! That is so wrong because I have always thought I was the exact opposite of an orchid. I'd characterize myself as a daisy. You know,

    April 17, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet! Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it's down to $134 billion. People who believe in public belt-tightening applaud drops like that. I understand why: there are many reas

    April 17, 2014

  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.