Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 16, 2013

PARKS AND REC: Logan parks must find balance

(Continued)

The opportunity to maintain or acquire park properties is now expanding. The park board and the city administration recognize the need to relinquish some of the lesser-used facilities to private ownership or use, so park maintenance staff can concentrate on the more heavily used parks which draw families and visitors to them. Toward that end, the park board recently considered a resolution which offers 10 properties, including Ben Long Center and Memorial Park, for sponsorship opportunities, or for sale or lease to private parties.

We are excited to add facilities to our park inventory, such as Huston Park, or the Eel River Run trail and the bridge over the Eel River, now being constructed. Both of these great facilities were made possible through grants and corporate or private donations —specifically the Cole, Huston and Penman families, and the Mike Anderson Auto Group. Their generosity has allowed these facilities to be built.

However, the parks department will still be responsible for maintenance, and we must find balance. We cannot continue adding to our facilities without adding maintenance staff or reducing the workload of existing staff. Some of the properties on the relinquishment list are parcels of land that have fallen into the jurisdiction of the Parks Department over the years simply because they had no other good use. It is our hope that we can find good homes for these parcels of land, so that we may concentrate efforts on our primary park properties that not only add quality of life to our citizens, but attract out of town and even out of state visitors.

Just this summer, a family friend visiting us from out of state wanted specifically to go see the Dentzel Carousel at Riverside Park. I’m sure my story is not unique. We want to continue putting our city’s best foot forward with our outstanding park facilities, and to make that happen, we will continue to rely on volunteers who give of their time, energy, or money to make our parks and programs what they are. For your efforts, we offer a sincere “Thank You.” Your efforts are very much appreciated.

Jeff Smith is a school board representative to the Logansport Parks Board.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WILLIAMS: America still the dream Is America really in as bad as shape like many people say it is? I’m 67 and when I look around, I don’t see it.Everything isn’t great but believe it or not, there has never been a time when everything was great, not even in those innocent Fifties we

    July 31, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Every town that has any sort of waterway -- whether it be a river or a creek or just a stream -- knows it will be used as a trash can. And oftentimes, tires are a favorite trash to be tossed into the waterways. Many organizations and concerned citize

    July 31, 2014

  • WERNER: The mystery of the Indian grave at Dykeman Last summer I contacted Thelma Conrad, executive director of the Cass County Historical Society, to ask her if she had any information on the Indian grave at Dykeman Park. Thelma had heard of it but had never seen the small marker that tells of the I

    July 31, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should the U.S. impose a travel ban on three West African nations in response to a growing Ebola virus outbreak?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.