Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

September 16, 2013

HOWEY: Atop the dome with Frank O’Bannon

(Continued)

That 1997 legislative session and the community college system are the two greatest aspects of Gov. O’Bannon’s legacy.

There were disappointments along the way. O’Bannon didn’t pull the trigger on property tax reform until a full-blown crisis in 2001 threatened to dislocate many Hoosiers who could no longer afford their homes. There were dislocations and loss of life as the state struggled to decentralize homes for our mentally challenged brothers and sisters.

But in retrospect, we find policy architects building foundations.

Gov. O’Bannon’s top priority in 1999 was full-day kindergarten. The seething rivalries between the governor and Senate Republicans, and the fratricide between House and Senate Republicans got in the way of what was best for our children. It was Gov. Mitch Daniels that was able to take the foundation O’Bannon had identified and bring it to reality. And Daniels would give glowing commencement addresses to Ivy Tech, rightfully pointing out how vital it has become for our state.

Daniels was clearly an activist governor. Frank O’Bannon was a facilitator and an arbitrator, allowing the legislature to thrash out the details. I asked him about that after the 2002 special session that brought about temporary property tax relief and he said, “I’d say that’s a good observation. We’ve got split houses here, one Democrat, one Republican.” He noted that Govs. Doc Bowen and Bob Orr had GOP legislatures, and yet barely got their historic tax and education initiatives passed. “It’s a tremendous difference,” O’Bannon said.

He governed the way Gov. Roger Branigin did back in the 1960s. A reporter once asked Branigin about his policies. “Son, I don’t do policies, I do personalities,” Branigin responded.

So that fateful May in 1997, as Mayor Goldsmith was appealing to Democrats, Gov. O’Bannon went to speak to House Republicans. “It was a great experience,” O’Bannon said. When he finished speaking, O’Bannon heard a Republican ask, “Well, how can we trust people on the other side?”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.