Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

September 13, 2013

FREY: Time to stop playing the race card

I cried when I read the story a few weeks ago.

A pit of disgust formed in my stomach.

And then I got mad.

His name was Delbert “Shorty” Burton. He was 88 years old. He enjoyed playing pool and working on cars. He was robbed of his wallet and brutally beaten by two male teenagers on Aug. 22 while sitting in his car outside an Eagles Lodge in Spokane, Wash.

Burton died the next day.

Did I mention Burton was a World War II veteran, a man who joined the Army, was sent to the Pacific Theater, fought in the Battle of Okinawa, and got shot in the leg?

The week before, in another senseless act of violence, Christopher Lane, 22, who moved to America from Australia to attend East Central University on a baseball scholarship, was killed by a bullet that entered his back. He was jogging along a tree-lined road in Duncan, Okla. Three teenagers were responsible.

With absolutely no apparent motive, police in Duncan described the act as a “thrill killing,” adding that the teenagers were bored and wanted to “break the monotony of an Oklahoma summer.”

What exactly does that mean? How do young people in the prime of their lives find themselves so bored that killing for thrills becomes a pasttime? Why is it necessary to beat an 88-year-old man to death?

And where was the outcry?

We heard and saw the outcry after Trayvon Martin was killed by George Zimmerman.

Was that because Martin was African-American?

Could the deaths of two Caucasian males at the hands of five teenagers of a darker color also not be seen or interpreted as hate crimes, racially motivated?

Where were the rallies of justice for Burton and Lane?

Oddly enough, President Obama (who is continually identified by the media as African-American, but is technically biracial or mulatto), took a week to respond to either of these tragedies. The president did, however, have much to say the day after the verdict was handed down in the George Zimmerman trial.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.