Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

September 10, 2013

VILLAGE IDIOT: A giant book store where it's all free

Think about the last time you were in a giant chain bookstore, with its aisles of best-sellers, its huge children’s section, its walls of mysteries and rooms of romances. It’s got all the classics, along with stacks of photo and art books you can flip through, page-turners that will keep you up all night, books you will read through in one sitting, business books, self-help books, spiritual books, how-to books — something for everyone.

Picture that store and how much time you spent there, and how much money you spent when you left. Now, imagine if all the books in that store were free!

Every Danielle Steel novel, every David Baldacci and James Patterson thriller, everything ever written by Nora Roberts, Maeve Binchy, Tony Hillerman, Nevada Barr, Louis L’Amour and Alexander McCall Smith — absolutely free. All you have to do is pick out what you like, stick it under your arm and walk out the door. No buzzers go off, no security guard chases you down the street screaming, “Stop! Shoplifter!”

Have expensive tastes? Crave that $65 unabridged audiobook of the new J.K. Rowling? Want to listen to it in your car on your way to work, but haven’t got the scratch? Want to hear the new Jack Reacher thriller or the “Game of Thrones” series before you see it on TV? Take it, it’s yours. Thanks, buh-bye. Come back again soon.

Sick of reading the same old wormy bedtime story to Junior over and over and over and over and over? The free bookstore stocks hundreds of newly published children’s books each year. Got a Harry Potter fan in your house? The free bookstore has a young adult section with hundreds of fresh, new stories as modern as an iWatch. Walk in, grab what you like, walk out. Why not? They’re free.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.