Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

August 25, 2013

HOWEY: The Pandora’s Box awaiting in Syria

The images we’ve seen this week are grotesque, disturbing, heart breaking and may be just a preview of things to come.

The chemical attacks – apparently by the Syrian government against rebel strongholds outside of Damascus – have killed an estimated 1,300, including dozens of children.

In a civil war against the Assad regime, more than 100,000 people have been killed as Iran, Russia and Hezbollah have supported the government. But the chilling specter is the potential for al Qaeda to not only take power in this fractured state, or part of it, but to gain control of Syria’s chemical stockpiles.

Former U.S. Sen. Richard Lugar spent the last 20 years of his Senate career trying to prevent this type of attack, forging the Nunn-Lugar Cooperative Threat Reduction Act that initially took aim at the decaying nuclear, biological and chemical stockpiles in the old Soviet Union. Over time, Nunn-Lugar worked to rid Albania of its chemical stockpiles

In a statement to Howey Politics Indiana, Lugar said last Thursday morning, “One year ago, while in Moscow, I made a public suggestion that the United States and Russia work together to secure and destroy chemical weapons in Syria. Recent reports on the use of chemical weapons in Syria, and the destabilizing effect the conflict in Syria is having on the broader Middle East, underscore the continuing importance of the United States seeking to work with Russia and our NATO allies to ensure that chemical and biological weapons in Syria and elsewhere are identified and destroyed.”

Lugar was defeated for reelection in the Republican primary in 2012, leaving a void in Congress on who will continue the crusade to stabilize and eliminate the WMD stockpiles. There has been notable success, as states such as Ukraine, Belarus, Albania and Kazakhstan have given up their stockpiles.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Health care fraud can't go unchecked National health care spending tops $2.7 trillion annually. That leaves a lot of room, and temptation, for abuse of a bureaucracy that administers medical services. Medicare and Medicaid scams may cost taxpayers more than $98 billion each year. Health

    April 15, 2014

  • MARCUS: Truth is often unwelcome Jim Feelwright greeted me warmly as I entered the room: “Well, here he is, Mr. Negative.” Since it was a friendly meeting, I borrowed a famous line from the movies: “You can’t handle the truth.” “You,” he said, “just don’t want to see what’s really h

    April 15, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Signs of spring finally upon us Today I saw my first crocus popping up after the long winter. It was in a picture a friend posted on Facebook. Suddenly, it seemed everyone was posting pictures of buds on trees, robins on the lawn, green shoots coming up in the garden. It was almost

    April 15, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Tuesday, April 15, 2014 Thankful to community for its care, prayers Thank you to Kyle Rans, Harrison-Metzger-Rans, Guardian Angels Hospice, Royal Center first responders and ambulance drivers for the gentle care and comforting words extended to our family. Thank you to the

    April 15, 2014

  • Brian Bosma BOSMA: House Republicans achieve legislative priorities When the General Assembly began its work last November, as Speaker I pledged a session driven by five main issues: increased road funding, enhanced job training, early childhood education, fair business taxation and cutting government red tape. With

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • LYONS: Taking pity on the Plutocrats "Should any political party attempt to abolish social security, unemployment insurance, and eliminate labor laws and farm programs, you would not hear of that party again in our political history. There is a tiny splinter group, of course, that belie

    April 14, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should e-cigarette marketing be regulated like tobacco?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.